Glitch

*EXPECTED PUBLICATION AUGUST 7TH, 2012*

Thank you, NetGalley!!

The first in a new dystopian trilogy. Summary from Goodreads–In the Community, there is no more pain or war. Implanted computer chips have wiped humanity clean of destructive emotions, and thoughts are replaced by a feed from the Link network. When Zoe starts to malfunction (or “glitch”), she suddenly begins having her own thoughts, feelings, and identity. Any anomalies must be immediately reported and repaired, but Zoe has a secret so dark it will mean certain deactivation if she is caught: her glitches have given her uncontrollable telekinetic powers. As Zoe struggles to control her abilities and stay hidden, she meets other glitchers including Max, who can disguise his appearance, and Adrien, who has visions of the future. Together, this growing band of glitchers must find a way to free themselves from the controlling hands of the Community before they’re caught and deactivated, or worse.

I had mixed feelings about this book. On the one hand, I really liked the unique underground setting. It was very vividly described.I also appreciated that the author tried to create futuristic slang (this is mainly in relation to Adrien’s character). I also thought the tilt towards the sci-fi side of dystopian literature was different and interesting. However, a well-described setting doesn’t make up for the other flaws I found with the plot.

(MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS)

First of all, I found it very hard to believe that Adrien and Zoe fell in love after a few hours of being together. I don’t think someone who had only been having real emotions for a couple of months would have been able to identify that feeling so fast, so it felt a little inconsistent. Besides that, the romance was also rather predictable. As soon as Zoe mentioned the boy with the aquamarine eyes the second time, I knew they would somehow end up romantically involved. I also wonder why that part of the story was necessary, since she forgot it all anyway.

I did not like Zoe/Zoel’s “thing” with Maximin/Max very much either. I didn’t like that all he thought about was getting into her pants. I mean really, one of the very first things he asked her was if he could see her genitalia. I also didn’t like how reckless he was as a person and how inconsiderate of the lives of other people he was. I wondered why Zoe put up with him touching her and trying to “be together” with her for so long when it seemed she wasn’t interested in him in that way.

I have to admit, though, I was glad when Max turned out to be the Chancellor’s spy and he chose to stay underground. I don’t think I could have lived with the book if Max had remained part of the story. However, though he is gone, I am uncertain if I will read the sequel when it comes out.

Also try:

“Cinder” by Marissa Meyer

“Across the Universe” by Beth Revis

Leave a Reply

