Top Ten Tuesday: My Favorite Heroines

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by the blog The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will post my own Top Ten lists here of books I am particularly fond of that relate to one topic, genre, etc.

This is not in order. This list is also subject to change…

1. Cordelia Kenn from This Is All–This is one of my favorite books and Cordelia is definitely one of my all-time favorite characters. What is even more impressive to me is that this book was written by a man, yet he captured so completely and perfectly what growing up as a woman feels like. So major props to Aidan Chambers. What a man.

2. Hanna from Bleeding Violet–Such a wild n’ crazy book. Hanna was so badass and tough she couldn’t not be on this list.

3. Katniss from The Hunger Games–Okay, so maybe putting her on this list is a little cliche, but she really is one of my favorite female characters. I read a few articles by some feminists who were annoyed that Katniss chose to be a mother at the end of the series, but I think that was complete BS. The thing I love about Katniss is that she’s tough, fights for her family and the people she loves, and then she chooses Peeta even though he might be considered “damaged” and chooses to have a family even though she is afraid of bringing children into such a harsh world. To me, feminism is all about choice, and Katniss is a prime example of that in young adult literature today.

4. Caitlin from Hold Still–Another character from one of my all-time favorite books. Caitlin was so brave in the way she handled her best friend’s suicide, and through her voice and her story I was able to reconcile a few things within myself. Thank you Caitlin.

5. Dru from the Strange Angels series–I’ve mentioned before how I hate the covers of these books. That still holds true. It also still holds true that Dru is a much-needed breath of fresh air in paranormal books. I am on the second book, and there still is no romance, which I really appreciate because these books prove that a story about a girl for girls can be good without throwing in some testosterone.

6. Mia from If I Stay–Again, women having equal rights is about choices. This is something that isn’t emphasized enough in young adult literature for girls today, instead gearing towards how girls can make themselves more desirable for men. I loved that Mia chose to go to Julliard instead of choosing Adam at the end of the first book. But, again, like Katniss, she does choose love, but it is not her priority and reason for being.

7. Daisy from How I Live Now–I absolutely loved this book, and I’m not sure how to talk about Daisy without giving away parts of the story, so I’ll just stop here and hope you read it…

8. Melinda from Speak–Obviously she has to be on this list.

9. Deanna Lambert from Story of a Girl–Honestly, I don’t remember much about this book having read it such a long time ago, but I do remember how I related to Deanna a lot and how her struggles helped me with my own.

10. Mariam from A Thousand Splendid Suns–There was certainly more than one strong woman in this story, but Mariam’s character is the one who really resonated with me.

Leave a Reply

