Switched

Title: Switched
Author: Amanda Hocking
Publisher: CreateSpace
Publication Date: July 12, 2010
Pages: 304
Genre: Fantasy
Source: Library
Rating: 4.2/5

Oh. My. God. What a good book.

I was super excited to read this book, as I read an article about Amanda Hocking last summer and thought her approach to writing was really interesting. She started out researching current trends and YA lit so she could put a spin on them, and she certainly has by choosing to write her Trylle Trilogy about creatures not often written about in young adult books: trolls. She implemented trolls into this story of a female changeling, Wendy, and really, it only made the story all the more interesting.

Something else I appreciated about the writing was that the way Wendy spoke felt genuine without being annoying, which is what often happens when adult writers try to write like teenagers.

And my goodness, words cannot express how much I want Wendy to fall for Rhys. I think he is a much better choice than Finn, but it doesn’t seem like things will turn out the way I want them too. My hope is that the title of the next book, “Torn,” is indicative of Wendy’s struggle between choosing Finn and Rhys, but more likely it will be her struggle between her family and her duties as Princess of the Trylle.

This was a really fun, entertaining book and I can’t wait to pick up the sequel from the library today!

Leave a Reply

