Circle of Silence

Title: Circle of Silence (WiHi #2)
Author: Carol M. Tanzman
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Publication Date: July 24, 2012
Pages: 304
Genre: Contemporary
Source: NetGalley
Rating: 2/5

After being chosen as producer of Campus News, Valerie Gaines comes face to face with her first exciting story. When undies appear on the school flagpole by the mysterious “MP”, she and her team take charge. But soon, MP’s pranks become more and more sinister. Will Val and her team be able to find the culprit (or culprits) before someone gets seriously hurt?

On plot: There were many faults I found with the plot. Something I felt the entire story really lacked was believability. Another thing that bothered me about the story was that it was so very melodramatic. The way the pranks got more and more sinister and the predictability of the action did not make for a very interesting story. I also felt that the whole secret society element would have made more sense in a college setting, rather than a high school one. For me, placing the story in high school just added to the lameness of the whole thing. Rather than adding suspense to the story, the code names, MP’s “log”, and their oath just made the secret group seem kind of pathetic, to be honest. Another thing that didn’t really work for me was the weak love triangle between Val, Jagger, and Raul.  I felt that element was not really necessary, especially since the secret society should have kept the plot going. All in all, I didn’t think the author created a very interesting story.

On characters: I don’t think there was a single character I liked in this book. I found Val somewhat irritating, and didn’t really feel her passion for journalism as much as I think was intended. She was not a particularly dynamic character. The only character that really held my interest was Jagger, but that was mostly due to his (SPOILER) brief coma near the end of the book. In general, the characters could have just used a little more meat on them.

Thank you, Harlequin Teen!

Leave a Reply

