Forgotten

Title: Forgotten
Author: Cat Patrick
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: June 7, 2011
Pages: 304
Genre: Contemporary, mystery
Source: Kindle!
Rating: 4.5/5

To say London Lane has a bad memory would be an understatement. Each night at 4:33am, London forgets everything that happened during the day. But, what London does “remember” is what will happen to people in the future. When mysterious, gorgeous Luke shows up, she searches for him in her “memories” but can’t see him. At the same time, she starts having dreams about a funeral. London needs to discover whose funeral it is…and how she can stop it.

*SPOILER ALERT*

This was a beautifully written book. Everything about it, from the romance, to the mystery, to the pain, was made incredibly gorgeous by Cat Patrick’s skillful prose. Even if the story had not been good, I would have kept reading simply because I loved the lyricism of Patrick’s words, but I was hooked from London’s very first list of things to remember.

“Forgotten” was a really unusual story. I thought the premise was very original, and I feel Patrick dealt with it in a very realistic way.

I also thought London and Luke’s relationship was fairly realistic, considering she had to read notes to remind herself of him every day. I was very glad that Patrick included the scene where London falls asleep in Luke’s car and wakes up not knowing where she was or who he is. This gave me a deeper understanding of London’s condition, and also provided a bit of a laugh. I also loved London & Luke’s first date scene; I honestly thought I was going to pass out from how sweet and swoon-worthy the whole thing was.

I do wish that there had been a bit more focus on London and her family, as that was what the story really ended up being about. At the end of the book, I found myself wishing that either it was a little longer or that there was a sequel. However, by not having a perfectly happy ending, Cat Patrick did create a story that I imagine will leave a lasting impression on me for years to come. Sometimes, stories that are not completely resolved make more of an impact than stories that are.

“Forgotten” is an amazing book that packs a lot of emotional punches and is the true definition of a page-turner.

Leave a Reply

