E-Reading Devices vs. Printed Books

So, Kindles are kind of awesome.

I should begin this by saying I am not a fan of technology. I think that the way people use it nowadays is really keeping us all from interacting. I hate cell phones (the idea that people can contact you wherever you are scares me quite a lot) and texting, as it seems to me that’s all kids today do. I used to feel the same way about Kindles; I wanted and still want to preserve the written word on good, old-fashioned paper. But, after receiving a Kindle of my own as a gift, my opinion on that particular subject has changed fairly drastically.

I love the Kindle. I personally wear reading glasses, since my eyes get tired if I read too long, but with a Kindle, I can change the font and make it as big as I need. I haven’t worn glasses while reading since I’ve had it, except sunglasses to read outside.

I also really like how easy it is to buy books. You can just turn on your wireless, search the Amazon store, and buy a new book at the touch of a button. Besides that, you can read a decent-sized sample before you buy something as well. For someone like me, who needs new books literally every week, this feature is worth having. It also saves me the heartache of going to my local Barnes & Noble, which has been taken over by toys and the Twilight franchise. The Kindle will always have whatever book I want, excluding of course a couple of British books not yet available in the U. S.

With the Kindle, I can also take as many books as I like with me when I travel. When I was younger, I used to pack between 3-5 books for a weekend trip, so the size of the Kindle is definitely an improvement. I don’t even have to worry about only packing paperbacks anymore.

The only thing I don’t like about the Kindle is the lack of a backlight. You can buy covers with a built-in light, but those cost almost as much as the Kindle itself. Still, this really is the only problem I have found with it so far, which is pretty good considering my aversion to most modern-day technology.

So, while I still love physical books, I have now become a Kindle convert. If you can afford one, this is definitely a device to have. Its size and immediacy is great for book-lovers, and is just an all-around great gadget. Highly recommended.

One thought on “E-Reading Devices vs. Printed Books

Leave a Reply

