The Girl in the Clockwork Collar

Title: The Girl in the Clockwork Collar
Author: Kady Cross
Publisher: Harlequin
Publication Date: May 22, 2012
Pages: 416
Genre: Historical, steampunk
Source: NetGalley
Rating: 3.5/5

Picking up where “The Girl in the Steel Corset” left off, Emily, Sam, Griffin, and Finley have come to New York to clear their friend Jasper’s name after he was taken away by cops based on a murder charge. Filled with romance, intrigue, and double-crosses.

This is one of those rare books that I feel would work better as a movie. There’s a lot of action and just the right amount of romance, but the writing of it is just…fine. I don’t always love historical-type fiction, but the ones I have read I’ve liked because of the beautiful writing.

Admittedly, though, there were a lot of things I liked about the story, if not the actual writing (hence the 3.5 instead of the 3).

For one thing, Kady Cross has created some of the strongest female characters I’ve read. Finley is strong in many ways, emotionally and physically. However, while she is tough, she is still warm and caring. She also interests me as a female character because, while she loves Griffin, she does not become a helpless, lovesick heroine like often happens in young adult love stories. In addition, Finley is not afraid to do what she thinks is necessary to help her friends, even if it’s risky.

Emily is another great female character, extremely intelligent, witty, and loyal. She is definitely a quality character for a more minor role.

I enjoyed reading about the Irish gangs from the 1800s. That added an interesting element to the story. I loved Wildcat and her gang members as well.

So, all in all I’d say the book was fairly decent, but if there is another book in the series I don’t think I’m going to read it.

Leave a Reply

