One Moment…too long

Title: One Moment
Author: Kristina McBride
Publisher: Egmont USA
Publication Date: June 26, 2012
Pages: 272
Genre: Contemporary
Source: NetGalley
Rating: 3.5/5
Picture Perfect: Pretty perfect
Protagonist Pizzaz: weak
Va va va voice: Sparing, poetic
Mph: 30

Maggie’s life is thrown upside down when her boyfriend dies in a terrible accident. The problem is, she was with him when it happened but can’t remember anything about it…

Picture perfect: Pretty Perfect
It’s probably a good thing I’ve decided to write about the covers first in my reviews because, in this case, the cover was really the only thing I didn’t have a problem with. The ripple created by (presumably) Maggie’s toe is nice and symbolic of the whole “one moment” deal, although that in itself is a bit cheesy for my taste.

Protagonist Pizzaz: weak
I can’t put my finger on exactly what it was, but something about Maggie’s character just didn’t work for me. It took me a while–if “never” can be considered a while–to warm up to her. There was just something about her that prevented me from clicking with her. For some reason I didn’t have any sympathy for her at any point in the story. I also found her character quite flat; I thought the other characters were all much more interesting. I actually had the most sympathy for Shannon, and felt the story would have been better and more meaningful had she been the narrator.
And, on the subject of meaningfulness, I don’t know if Joey was the right character to kill off. I wasn’t a fan of him from the beginning and immediately sensed something skeevey about him. I wish we’d gotten to know more about Joey when he was alive outside of Maggie’s romantic relationship with him, because it seemed to me the whole point of the book was supposed to be that someone in a tightly-knit group of friends died, not just that that person was Maggie’s boyfriend.
Basically, Maggie didn’t really do it for me. It seemed that the only function she had was as a love interest (which my feminist self really didn’t appreciate), and the intense focus on her love life didn’t do much for me either.

Va va va voice: Sparing and poetic
The thing that saved this book from being a solid 3 was the potential I see in McBride’s writing. Her style reminded me of a young adult author I really like, Elizabeth Scott. It is for this reason alone that I will read any other books McBride puts out.

Mph: 30
“One Moment” didn’t move along enough for me. I felt like it only got sort of good around 75% (by Kindle), with the major confrontation where I discovered my feelings about Joey being skeevey were well-founded. It may have been made slower due to the fact that I knew from the first mention of the bracelet that (SPOILERS) Joey had done some hanky-panky with another friend. For almost the whole book, I just wanted Maggie to figure it out already.

Now, I have read some really excellent books focused on grief that have left lasting impressions on me. I can safely say though, that “One Moment” is not one of them.

Leave a Reply

