Top Ten Favorite Childhood Books

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

Each week we will post a new Top Ten list  that one of our bloggers here at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join. All we ask is that you link back to The Broke and the Bookish on your own Top Ten Tuesday post AND add your name to the Linky widget so that everyone can check out other bloggers lists! If you don’t have a blog, just post your answers as a comment. Have fun with it! It’s a fun way to get to know your fellow bloggers.

1. Inkheart by Cornelia Funke–If I could only choose one book for this list, this would definitely be it. I loved this book because of how important the power of words was. I loved that Meggie slept with books, that Mo was a book binder, and the little martin named Jink. Funke created a truly beautiful story with Inkheart that I won’t forget even when I’m a wrinkly little old lady in a nursing home sitting by a window being read to after my eyes give out from all the books.

2. The Thief Lord by Cornelia Funke–Another great one. A truly perfect children’s story. When I was little I was a bit obsessed with Venice for a while, and it was mainly due to this book and the next on the list…

3. Vendela in Venice by Christina Bjork–As previously mentioned, VENICE OBSESSION. A beautiful story with equally beautiful illustrations.

4. Island of the Aunts by Eva Ibbotson–This is probably her best book. I remember my parents and I reading some of her other books, too, Journey to the River Sea and The Secret of Platform 13 in particular.

5. Dragon Rider by Cornelia Funke–Okay, enough with the Cornelia Funke books already. I can’t help it, though, they’re just so good!

6. Sharon Creech–I couldn’t really pick just one book by her that’s my favorite. I liked Walk Two Moons alright and really enjoyed Ruby Holler, but I guess if I had to pick just one, it would be The Wanderer.

7. The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman–I actually listened to these books on tape. I lost track of how many times I listened to/read them, so obviously it needs to be on this list. The only thing is, I never found anything else by Philip Pullman that I really liked, though.

8. The Chronicles of Narnia by C. S. Lewis–Anyone who didn’t read at least one of these when they were kids had no childhood. Like really.

9. Lily’s Crossing and Pictures of Hollis Woods by Patricia Reilly Giff–Absolutely adored both of these. read/listened to them multiple times.

10. Things Not Seen by Andrew Clements–Another great book on tape. I must have absorbed tons and tons of books when I was little because I was always reading something or listening to something. I listened to books while I got stuff done, and read all the other times (haha).

 

Leave a Reply

