Listen to the watersong with me…

Title: Wake (Watersong #1)
Author: Amanda Hocking
Publisher: St. Martin’s Press
Publication Date: August 7, 2012
Pages: 309
Genre: Magical realism
Source: Library
Rating: 4/5
Picture Perfect: good enough
Protagonist Pizzaz: pretty good
Va va va voice: enjoyable/fun
Mph: 60

 

Picture Perfect: good enough
This cover is alright but I wish it had incorporated some of the more romantic or darker aspects of the story. I actually would have preferred the “bonus poster” underneath the cover:

*am also considering making this my cover photo for the fb page: https://www.facebook.com/BibliophiliaALoveStory

Protagonist Pizzaz: pretty good
I liked Gemma well enough. I didn’t find her as interesting or complicated a character as Wendy from Switched, but I found her spunky and strong, and her interest in athletics made her different from the majority of other female characters in the ya books I’ve been reading lately. I thought Harper was actually a more dynamic character as a whole, but I definitely still liked Gemma.

Va va va voice: enjoyable/fun
This would be a great summer beach read. It’s certainly a great book to add to the slowly growing canon of mermaid books (Lies Beneath, Of Poseidon, etc.), as it has Amanda Hocking’s stamp of quirky originality to it, although again, not as much as in Switched. I’d have liked the story to be slightly darker, as mermaids/sirens can sometimes go the swoony romance/The Little Mermaid route.

Mph: 60
The story moved along at a nice, steady pace and I felt engaged the whole time.

Can’t wait for winter 2013 and Lullaby!

 

Leave a Reply

