Mixtape Mondays: Watersongs

A weekly mixtape provided by your favorite YA book blogger on wordpress! To accompany Amanda Hocking’s Wake:


Down by the Water–The Decemberists
The season rubs me wrong
The summer swells anon
So knock me down, tear me up
But I would bear it all broken just to fill my cup
Down by the water and down by the old main drag

Anchor–Bess Rogers
I need an anchor to hold me down,
Baby you keep my feet on the ground,
Don’t let me float, don’t let me float away.

I need a moon that’ll calm the sea,
Baby you do the right thing for me,
Don’t let me float, don’t let me float away.

Sink or Swim–Tyrone Wells
Kamikaze airplanes in the sky
Are we going down or will we fly?
This could be a shipwreck on the shore
Or we could sail away forevermore
This time it’s sink or swim, sink or swim

Meet Me by the Water–Rachael Yamagata
Would you please meet me by the water, baby
We’ll have a really good time
Would you please meet me by the water, baby
‘Cause I can’t get you off of my mind

Rolling Sea–Vetiver
Nothing escapes the rolling sea
Not the past nor you or me
You keep the world at bay
Should it all wash away
You wouldn’t feel no pain of losing kind
Gather the boat and wind and a few of your closest friends
Gonna ride and swim while the weather’s high

Swimming–Florence and the Machine
I was sinking, and now I’m sunk
I was drinking, and now I’m drunk
Your songs remind me of swimming,
But somehow I forgot

Crawled Out of the Sea–Laura Marling
Oh you crawled out of the sea,
straight into my arms,
straight into my arms.

Led to the Sea–Jenny Owen Youngs
Followed your breadcrumbs
They led to the sea
Followed your breadcrumbs
They led to the sea
Sea
Sea

Little Ocean Town–Rachael Cantu
Let me show you around this little ocean town 
Wave by wave in the sea is where I learned to breathe 
So follow me out, out to the sea 

The Sea–Corinne Bailey Rae
The sea,
The majestic sea,
Breaks everything,
Crushes everything,
Cleans everything,
Takes everything
From me

Swim Until You Can’t See Land–Frightened Rabbit
Now the water’s taller than me
And the land is a marker line
All I am is a body adrift in water, salt and sky

So swim until you can’t see land
Swim until you can’t see land
Swim until you can’t see land
Are you a man or are you a bag of sand?

One thought on “Mixtape Mondays: Watersongs

  1. This sounds great!!! I love your selections, and even though I haven’t read Wake yet, seems like they’d be great fits. I just made a mix/soundtrack for my post today and it was a lot of hard work! 🙂

Leave a Reply

