Pick me! Pick me!

Title: The Selection
Author: Kiera Cass
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: April 24, 2012
Pages: 327
Genre: dystopia, romance
Source: Kindle
Rating: 5/5
Picture Perfect: pretty
Protagonist Pizzaz: okay
Va va va voice: true blue
Mph: 70

Summary from Goodreads- For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in the palace and compete for the heart of the gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself- and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

Picture Perfect: pretty
It’s a pretty cover, and a great edition to the dress trend in ya lit these days, but not entirely accurate. America Singer is repeatedly described as plain, always opting for the less-fancy dresses, sticking instead to things she might wear as a Five in Carolina. This is really important in the story and is one of the reasons Maxon is attracted to her in the first place. So basically, while it is a pretty cover, it doesn’t capture America’s spirit as accurately as it could have.

Protagonist Pizzaz: okay
I’ll admit it: at first, I found America Singer pretty annoying. I guess she is actually a pretty predictable character, but I still ended up liking her alright. I wish that she had had a few more inner conflicts about things other than her love life, like maybe leaving her family or gone more into what it was like for her being with people of higher castes. I thought the caste concept was really interesting, and I wish there had been more conflict with that aspect of the story. I hope they go more into that with the tv show on the CW.

I also had a little trouble believing that America would be so willing to go down a caste for Aspen. This was one of the things that annoyed me about her: she was so idealistic and didn’t seem to think about the reality of her and Aspen’s situations. All she cared about was love, not really considering the repercussions of some of her actions. I wish that she had gone through more of a transformation in general.

I do have to say though, I was really surprised when I started rooting for America/Maxon. Maxerica. Amaxon. Whatever. I just really adored Maxon for some reason. He was just so sweet and awkward but the relationship between him and America seemed like something that might grow in real life, too. I have to say, I was pissed when (SPOILER) Aspen showed up at the palace and he and America were all lovey-dovey again. I mean seriously. Come on. Get over him already. I hope he does something else stupid so that America will concentrate fully on Maxon.

In general, America Singer wasn’t the dynamic character I’d hoped for when I started the book, but that definitely didn’t keep me from enjoying the story.

Va va va voice: true blue
I thought America’s voice was fairly genuine. As I mentioned above, I found her a little irritating and unrealistically idealistic. Still, she always stuck to being herself, which obviously helped her in the competition. But again, more complexity would have been nice.

Mph: 70
This was a very well-paced book, very fast-moving, and never a dull moment. The entertainment value was what made this book a 5/5 for me, despite its predictability. To be honest, though, I don’t see why anyone would compare it to the Hunger Games, as it was much better written and more violent, as well as a deeper story. But still, it was quite the perfect blend of romance, drama, and dystopia. I think the plot really lends itself to a tv show, and I’m really excited to see how that turns out.

On the show: CASTING

Aimee Teegarden: America Singer

While I have not seen her act, I really disagree with this casting simply based on looks. I imagined America to be slightly more severe-looking due to her status as a Five. Teegarden looks too young and innocent to be America, so I really hope she can pull it off.

Ethan Peck: Prince Maxon

Seriously? I would have thought they’d cast William Moseley as Maxon since he’s much prettier and prince-like. From the photo above I think Peck could at least capture the fun part of Maxon’s spirit, but I’m really curious to see why they arrived at him for Max.

William Moseley: Aspen

Moseley is way too pretty to be Aspen. I just pictured him and America as harder-looking, and here Aspen is looking well-fed and doe-eyed. I do like William Moseley though due to his role in Narnia, so I’m more willing to be open-minded where he’s concerned. Also, as a sidenote, he would have made an excellent Peeta.

Leonor Varela: Queen Amberly

Well at least someone seems perfect. I mean, holy lord, just look at her.

Elise Gatien: May

Isn’t May supposed to be a lot younger than America…?

Leave a Reply

