and then woman made man…

Title: Eve and Adam
Author: Michael Grant (!) and Katherine Applegate
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
*Publication Date: October 2, 2012*
Pages: 304
Genre: Contemporary
Source: NetGalley
Rating: 4.5/5
Picture Perfect: darn good
Protagonist Pizzaz: way up there
Va va va voice: engaging and intriguing
Mph: 60

Summary from Goodreads- And girl created boy…

In the beginning, there was an apple—

And then there was a car crash, a horrible injury, and a hospital. But before Evening Spiker’s head clears a strange boy named Solo is rushing her to her mother’s research facility. There, under the best care available, Eve is left alone to heal.

Just when Eve thinks she will die—not from her injuries, but from boredom—her mother gives her a special project: Create the perfect boy.

Using an amazingly detailed simulation, Eve starts building a boy from the ground up. Eve is creating Adam. And he will be just perfect… won’t he?

Picture Perfect: darn good
I really like this cover. It’s super-cool, techy-modern and stuff. It kind of reminds me of the cover for The Adoration of Jenna Fox, another unique cover. It really captures the spirit of the book and all that.

Protagonist Pizzazz: way up there
Before I started the book, I wondered if I would be able to tell who wrote each chapter, if a certain author wrote a certain character, etc. I had read Michael Grant’s Gone a while back and really enjoyed it, so I was at least a little familiar with his writing style, but I hadn’t even heard of Katherine Applegate before this book and was therefore unfamiliar with her style. However, if I had to guess, I would say she wrote Solo’s chapters while Grant took on Eve/E. V./Eve’s. Eve’s chapters were more clear and fast-moving, like I remember Gone to be, so that would be my assumption.

I also liked Solo a lot. He was an interesting male character. In most young adult romances I read, the guy is usually described as super attractive but doesn’t seem to have many brains. I liked that Solo was smart and resourceful with a bit (okay, a lot, but those would be spoilers) of a past. I’d venture to say he’s actually more complex than Eve as a character. Something I would have liked to see is more of a development of Solo and Terra Spiker’s relationship. You’re pretty much just told that Solo hates Terra and then told why, but there is actually very little interaction between the two of them.

Va va va voice: engaging and intriguing
Both writers told the story in a very clear, action-packed style. Eve and Adam is definitely not a book you’d read for poetic sentences and lyricism, but the way the authors wrote fit the story they were telling.

Mph: 90
As usual, Michael Grant helped create a super fast-paced story. I felt like the action near the end was a little contrived and would have been better suited to a film, but that didn’t stop me from enjoying the story immensely.

Leave a Reply

