Mixtape Mondays: You Against Me

For this week’s Mixtape Monday, I’ve put together a playlist to go along with Jenny Downham’s You Against Me.

Be Be Your Love–Rachael Yamagata
Everybody’s talking how I can’t be your love
But I want want wanna be your love
Want to be your love, for real
Everybody’s talking how I can’t be your love
But I want to be your love
Want to be your love for real

All At Once–The Fray
And all at once the crowd begins to sing
Sometimes the hardest thing
and the right thing are the same

Don’t You Touch Me–Soko
Let’s not pretend 
To be just friends 
And don’t hold my hand again 
Don’t break my heart again 

Is there 
A place 
Where I can rest 
Without you in my head 
Without you in my head 
Without you in my head 

The Good That Won’t Come Out–Rilo Kiley
I do this thing where I think I’m real sick
but I won’t go to the doctor to find out about it
Cause they make you stay real still in a real small space
As they chart up your insides and put them on display.
They’d see all of it, all of me, all of it.

All the good that won’t come out of me
and all the stupid lies I hide behind.
It’s such a big mistake
lying here in your warm embrace.

Can’t Go Back Now–The Weepies
Yesterday when you were young
Everything you needed done was done for you
Now you do it on your own
But you find you’re all alone, what can you do?

You and me walk on, walk on, walk on
‘Cause you can’t go back now

Where Does the Good Go?–Tegan and Sara
Where does the good go
Where do you go when you’re in love and the world knows
How do you live so happily while I am sad and broken down
What do you say it’s up for grabs now that you’re on your way down
Where does the good go, where does the good go

Starting Now–Ingrid Michaelson
Starting now I’ll never know your name
Starting now I’ll never feel the same
Starting now I wish you never came into my world.

Between the Lines–Sara Bareilles
Time to tell me the truth
To burden your mouth for what you say
No pieces of paper in the way
Cause i cant continue pretending to choose
These opposite sides on which we fall
The loving you laters if at all
No right minds could wrong be this many times

Nicest Thing–Kate Nash
Look, all I know is that you’re the nicest thing I’ve ever seen
And I wish that we could see if we could be something
Yeah I wish that we could see if we could be something

 

Leave a Reply

