The Breakup Mix

This week’s Mixtape Monday features the soundtrack for Daniel Handler’s Why We Broke Up.

1. You Belong With Me–Taylor Swift
But she wears short skirts, I wear t-shirts
She’s cheer captain and I’m on the bleachers

2. Fire–Ingrid Michaelson
Now I’m walking in, walking in a fire 
I’m walking in a fire with you 
I’m walking in, walking in a fire 
When I walk into you 
I’m walking in, walking in a fire 
I’m walking in a fire with you 
I’m walking in, walking in a fire 
When I walk into you 
Into you, into you, into you, into you, into you

3. My Same–Adele
I thought I knew myself, somehow you know me more
I’ve never known this, never before
You’re the first to make out whenever we argue
I don’t know who I’d be if I didn’t know you
You’re so provocative, I’m so conservative
You’re so adventurous, I’m so very cautious, combining
You’d think we wouldn’t, we do, but we do, but we do, but we do

4. Forget You–Cee Lo Green
I see you driving ’round town
With the girl I love and I’m like,
Forget you!
Oo, oo, ooo
I guess the change in my pocket
Wasn’t enough I’m like,
Forget you!
And forget her too!

5. Backwards Walk–Frightened Rabbit
I’m working on erasing you
I just don’t have the proper tools
I get hammered, forget that you exist
There’s no way I’m forgetting this

6. You’re Not Sorry–Taylor Swift
Looking so innocent,
I might believe you if I didn’t know
Could’ve loved you all my life
If you hadn’t left me waiting in the cold
And you got your share of secrets
And I’m tired of being last to know
And now you’re asking me to listen
Cause it’s worked each time before

7. White Liar–Miranda Lambert
Hey white liar 
The truth comes out a little at a time 
And it spreads just like a fire 
Slips off of your tongue like turpentine 
And I don’t know why 
White liar 

8. Letter Read–Rachael Yamagata
But all I have is your letter read
And I cannot get it out of my head
And I’m afraid, and I can’t breathe,
And I’m in love with you
But you are not with me

Leave a Reply

