Waiting on Wednesday: First love

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Jill from Breaking the Spine, and specifically spotlights upcoming novels we can’t wait to read. As always, there are some amazing upcoming books, but this week I’m particularly excited for…

First of all, the author’s name is Rainbow Rowell. Rainbow. Rowell. Rainbow. I just cannot get over it. I really hope Rainbow is her real name. Secondly, even the cover is super cute, with the intertwined headphones and the comic-like drawings of our main characters. Of course the truly important thing here is the story, which also sounds good, of course. It’s about first love in 1986 over the course of a single school year. It also came with this little description:

Bono met his wife in high school, Park says.
So did Jerry Lee Lewis, Eleanor answers.
I’m not kidding, he says.
You should be, she says, we’re 16.
What about Romeo and Juliet?
Shallow, confused, then dead.

I love you, Park says.
Wherefore art thou, Eleanor answers.
I’m not kidding, he says.
You should be.

Personally, I’m already hooked. I also think it’s interesting how in this piece of dialogue, the boy is being the romantic, possibly unrealistic one, while the girl is trying to do the whole grounding-down-to-earth thing. In the YA romances I’ve read, usually the girl is portrayed as the silly, emotional one. So besides being a great romance, this book might also mess around with traditional gender roles a little…? I guess I’ll have to wait and see on February 26, 2013.

One thought on “Waiting on Wednesday: First love

  1. I just got this one for review from Netgalley and I’m excited! I read her adult novel Attachments and it was a lot of fun! Super cute. I’m looking forward to getting to this one!

Leave a Reply

