Alien Invasion 2.0

Title: And All the Stars
Author: Andrea K. Host
Publisher: Andrea K. Host
Publication Date: October 1, 2012
Pages: 193
Genre: Dystopian
Source: NetGalley
Rating: 3.5/5

Madeleine’s life changes forever when a strange alien species invades Earth.

This was an intriguing and unique take on the dystopian genre. It took me a while to get into it, but I ended up liking each character and was certainly on the edge of my seat for some parts. However, I do question why Host included Tyler’s character. To me he didn’t seem to do anything for the story, though I think he was meant to be dynamic and plot-moving, at least at the beginning, when Madeleine talks about wanting to wear a specific dress for him. I thought maybe there would be some romance there or something, but he disappeared pretty early on in the story, so I just felt like Host didn’t need to include him at all. I also thought the inclusion of the portrait contest was a bit odd, and because Host began the story with that particular element, I expected it to be about something a bit different. Madeleine’s being an artist definitely didn’t take away from the story, I just wish Host had integrated that part of it in differently.

Leave a Reply

