Burn for Burn

Title: Burn for Burn
Author: Jenny Han & Siobhan Vivian
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: September 18th, 2012
Pages: 368
Genre: Contemporary
Source: Amazon
Rating: 4/5

Summary from Goodreads–Lillia has never had any problems dealing with boys who like her. Not until this summer, when one went too far. No way will she let the same thing happen to her little sister.

Kat is tired of the rumours, the insults, the cruel jokes. It all goes back to one person– her ex-best friend– and she’s ready to make her pay.

Four years ago, Mary left Jar Island because of a boy. But she’s not the same girl anymore. And she’s ready to prove it to him.

Three very different girls who want the same thing: sweet, sweet revenge. And they won’t stop until they each had a taste.

Whoa. Well that was a wild ride. Let me slow down for a second and catch my breath…

Okay, so. If you’re looking for a quick, escapist read with juice bursting out of the spine, look no further: you’ve found it. While you can’t expect much substance from any of the characters other than the highly damaged Mary, you can expect a lot of action and, of course, sweet, sweet revenge.

After reading this book, I, for one, would never want to get on Han or Vivian’s bad sides. Their plans for revenge were pretty darn tough, carried out by characters who only seemed to have a conscious after the fact. On that note, I thought it was interesting that though she had a big hand in all three revenge cycles, Kat was the only girl who never seemed to feel an inkling of guilt throughout the story. In fact, she’s the one who gets the last word, only hoping that they get away with what they’ve done.

When I started reading, I didn’t think I would get quite as invested in the characters as I did, since I don’t usually go for the petty-escapist-revenge type of stories. However, I did end up liking or at least being interested in the majority of the characters. Still, I found myself wishing that Kat had a little more substance to her story, although at first I thought it was Lillia who lacked substance as a character (I was proven wrong).

The only character whose desires I was a bit confused by was Mary. I wasn’t sure if she wanted to get revenge on Reeve or for him to fall in love with her. She goes back and forth throughout the book, clearly demonstrating that she had an incredibly unhealthy, dangerous relationship with him. I’m also a little worried for the second book because it seemed like Han and Vivian were trying to introduce a paranormal element with Mary’s seeming ability to make bad things happen.

I was also majorly disappointed by the ending, not realizing there would be a sequel (Fire for Fire, to be released ) until a good 15 minutes of loud ranting had passed. But once I realized this happy fact I felt slightly better. Let the games continue in 2013!

Leave a Reply

