Mixtape Mondays: A Masquerade Ball

 

This week’s mixtape goes along with Bethany Griffin’s Masque of the Red Death.

1. Help I’m Alive–Metric–Araby
Help, I’m alive, my heart keeps beating like a hammer
Hard to be soft, tough to be tender

2. The Black Cat Neighborhood–Fallulah–the lower city soundtrack
The black cat neighbourhood
you know you’re not invited

3. My Medecine–The Pretty Reckless–Araby’s drugs
Somebody mixed my medicine
I don’t know what I’m on
Somebody mixed my medicine
But baby it’s all gone
Somebody mixed my medicine

4. The Good That Won’t Come Out–Rilo Kiley–Elliot & Araby
I do this thing where I think I’m real sick
but I won’t go to the doctor to find out about it
Cause they make you stay real still in a real small space
As they chart up your insides and put them on display.
They’d see all of it, all of me, all of it.

All the good that won’t come out of me
and all the stupid lies I hide behind.
It’s such a big mistake
lying here in your warm embrace.

5. Time to Dance–Panic! at the Disco–Debauchery Club playlist
Give me envy, give me malice, give me your attention
Give me envy, give me malice, baby, give me a break!

6. Call of the Wild–Florrie–Drugs & the Debauchery Club
Want you, need you
It’s the call of the wild
Something animal, more than physical
Satisfy me cos I’m falling apart
Synchronicity in our chemistry

7. Keep Me Warm–Ida Maria–Araby for Will
Oh, you, you keep me warm
You, you keep me warm
All your cigarettes and cup of coffee
It keeps me warm

8. Saviour–LIGHTS–Araby
It will never change
if you want it to stay the same
I really hate it
but I know it’s hard to choose if you’re chained
and when it’s all you control 
’cause you got nothing else to hold 
You’re getting tighter and tighter 
It’s getting harder to let it go 

9. Child’s Hands–Lucy Kaplansky–Araby for her parents
I am so cold, I want you to heat me
I am so tired, I want you to carry me
I am so torn, I want you to mend me
I am so quiet, find words for me

chorus:
But I’m old enough to know
Old enough to understand
All these things I’ve carried here
Belong in a child’s hands

I am so guilty, want you to absolve me
I am so distant, build a road to me
I don’t want to know, promise you’ll lie to me
Don’t want to be alone, promise never to leave me

chorus:
But I’m old enough to know
Old enough to understand
All these things I’ve carried here
Belong in a child’s hands 

10. Put Your Arms Around Me–A Hawk in Paris–Elliot for the city
welcome to the fracture
here in the the land of broken things
we burned our history lessons 
in the fire of childhood kings
when we run out of ammunition
when we exhaust our last defense
and we go from screams to whispers
this might all make more sense

we’ve finally disconnected
we are unemotional
and the anthems we are singing
don’t mean anything at all
we’re afraid of our conclusions
what we love will kill us first
and the way to tell the difference 
from what we hate only makes things worse

11. Flawz–Caitlin Crosby–Araby for Will
All my flawz to see.
But you still love,
Love me.

Leave a Reply

