Starters

Title: Starters
Author: Lissa Price
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: January 1, 2012
Pages: 336
Genre: dystopian
Source: library
Rating: 5/5

After the Spore Wars wipe out everyone between ages 20 and 60, Callie is left to take care of her ailing brother, Tyler, with the help of their friend Michael. Overwhelmed by the daily struggle to survive and promise of wealth, Callie agrees to rent her body out to a rich Ender through Prime Destinations, a company whose intentions are much deadlier than giving old people the chance to party again.

starters lissa price

Starters was wonderfully engaging, suspenseful, and creepy, with just a hint of romance thrown in for good measure. It’s been on my to-read list for a while and my only regret is that I’ve waited all year to read it.

While the premise was unique and intriguing, I wouldn’t necessarily say that Callie was the greatest protagonist. I think she was a fairly generic character in terms of today’s dystopian books: doesn’t initially care about what’s going on around her, meets someone who enlightens her to the dangers of the world, starts a revolution. I’m not saying I didn’t like her a lot, but she was one of those characters that seemed to just be a vehicle for the world the author wanted to create.

Something I loved about Callie’s world was how completely creeptastic it was. Price described the Enders and their various effects on Callie perfectly. I wish Price had maybe written chapters from Helena’s perspective, because I felt she was a very interesting and complex character and she could have made the story even more exciting.

Starters was perfectly paced as well. It kept me on the edge of my seat without throwing me off it, and the twists were all perfect without seeming like they came from thin air. This exciting thrill ride of lies and stolen youth will appeal to many readers, and I can hardly wait for Enders to come out in July 2013!

Leave a Reply

