Top Ten Tuesday: Newly Read Authors of 2012

This week’s top ten is a list of authors I read that were new to me this year, not necessarily in order of favorites.

1. Amanda Hocking – Switched and Wake

I read about Amanda Hocking in a magazine article where she talked about how she got her start publishing independently on Amazon before a bigger company took her on in print, and about how she researched current trends in YA lit to figure out what would be different and cool to write about. Thankfully, I read about her right as the Trylle books came out in paperback, so I didn’t have to suffer a long wait to get a taste of her. I got hooked on Switched, and got Wake from the library as soon as that came out also. Definitely a quality find.

10586539switchedamandahocking2

2. Cat Patrick – Forgotten

9415951

I love, love, loved this book. The writing and the story were equally beautiful, and this book had been on my radar for a while so I’m glad I got around to reading it.

3. Cat Clarke – Entangled and Torn (not available in the U. S.)

8579933untitled

I bought Cat Clarke’s books Entangled and Torn on a trip to London after having read about them on another blog. While I didn’t love Torn (it was a bit too much of a Pretty Little Liars rip off for me, at least in terms of the show), Entangled was an interesting story.

4. Ursula Poznanski – Erebos

Erebos softcover.indd

As you can see from the review, I was really impressed with this book. This was another NetGalley I was unsure about at first, but it really blew me away. It was also one of the first ARCs I was sent in print format!

5. Kiera Cass – The Selection

10507293

This book and its author may have gotten a lot of bad press, but the story is really entertaining and will certainly lend itself well to the TV show being made for it by the CW (is it only going to be three seasons…?) I personally really enjoyed this book, and while I don’t care for the creator’s attitude regarding bad reviews, that won’t keep me from eating up the whole trilogy.

#TeamMaxen

6. Rainbow Rowell – Eleanor & Park

eleanorpark_cover

I absolutely adored this book. It was super unique and completely special. I’d recommend it to anyone else who’s as sick of the traditional love stories in YA lit as I am. Rainbow Rowell is truly a master, and I’m super excited to have Attachments ready and waiting for me to read this month.

7. Lili St. Crow – Strange Angels and Betrayals

strange-angels-lili-st-crow-book-cover-art1 Betrayals_revise.indd

These books were cool and unique for their own reasons. They were paranormal and the narrator was female, but she was a really bad ass female. Most of the heroines I see in today’s YA paranormal are weak and weepy, but Dru is her own animal. I also liked these books because they proved that you can write an interesting story without romance.

8. Joanna Nadin – Paradise

13531012

Joanna Nadin writes beautifully. This was a book I wasn’t so sure about when I requested it from NetGalley, but it so surpassed my expectations that I’m a little embarrassed to admit I almost didn’t read it. Highly recommended to anyone who loves a subtly complex story and lyrical writing.

9. Bethany Griffin – Masque of the Red Death

12924275-1

Oh my god. I was completely blown away by this book. I’ve read a couple books in the steampunk genre but haven’t really liked them, so I was surprised yet again this year by Bethany Griffin’s novel. Masque of the Red Death was vibrantly written as well as very entertaining, and I can hardly wait for the second book in the trilogy, Dance of the Red Death.

#TeamWill

10. Hannah Harrington – Speechless

speechless

Speechless was another great story I read this year, and my first introduction to Hannah Harrington, author of Saving June.

Leave a Reply

