Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’ve Had Very Strong Emotions About

A feature created by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s list is of the top ten books I have had very strong emotions about, whether that be complete love, tears, wanting to burn, etc.

1. Noughts & Crosses – Malorie Blackman
I have never cried over a book. Sure, I’ve gotten very emotional and invested in the characters, but never have actual tears fallen down my face. This book was the first. I bought the whole series (minus Double Cross, but I’m not sure if that one really counts) at Waterstones in London and read the first book on the plane ride home. Thankfully I was sitting next to a friend who understands how emotional books can make a person, so my crying wasn’t of much concern.

2. The Mara Dyer series – Michelle Hodkin
I had so many feels throughout both of these books. The first book left me with my jaw almost brushing the floor, and the second book left me with my jaw knocking through the floor. Besides that, I spent about five minutes running up and down the hallway of my dorm when the Jude twist happened in The Evolution, and practically had a heart attack when Noah _______. He can’t be _____. He just can’t.

3. Inexcusable – Chris Lynch
To be honest, all I really remember about this book is how much I hated it. As I recall, it followed the story of a young man who had raped someone, and throughout the whole book he just denied and denied it. There were absolutely no redeemable qualities about this boy; he was a complete dick wad the whole entire book. I ranted about it so much that my mom suggested I write about it, and I think that was probably the first book I ever reviewed.

4. Sisterhood Everlasting – Ann Brashares
I hated this book; I didn’t even bother finishing it because I was worried I would damage it by throwing it against a wall. I just don’t understand why she made Tibby die, or why there had to be a fifth book in the first place. I mean, the pants, like, floated away at the end of the fourth book, so why is the series continuing?

5. Hold Still – Nina LaCour
I absolutely loved this book. To be honest, I was a little hesitant to read it at first, because it sounded rather depressing and too similar to something I had gone through so I wasn’t sure if I should read it or not. However, reading this book helped me put a new perspective on the thing that I’d been through, and helped me understand and become a more forgiving person. This book was so sad and sweet and beautiful that it was impossible not to love. Every time I think of this book I still get so many feels.

6. The Alchemist – Paulo Coehlo
It wasn’t necessarily that the book was bad, although it was boring, I was just taught by a horrible teacher who tried to compare the theme of the book to an awful movie with Mel Gibson about baseball. I mean really, trying to use two things I hate (anti-semites and sports) to make a “real life” connection with the book only served to turn me off to it. Maybe I would have liked it if I’d read it on my own, but for now, sorry book, I just can’t.

7. The Glimpse – Claire Merle
I screamed about this book so much. I’m glad that my then-boyfriend was so tolerant of it, because I really needed to share my hatred of it with SOMEONE. I just hated Anna and how drippy and drab and weak she was, how all she thought about was Jasper, and the negative stereotypes of mental illness perpetuated in the book. I also hated that I couldn’t tell whether the author was endorsing those beliefs or not. I had been really excited that someone was writing a dystopia featuring a minority group, and it was just a huge disappointment.

8. Twenty Boy Summer – Sarah Ockler
I was absolutely, totally surprised by this book. I had gotten it as an ARC and definitely wouldn’t have read it otherwise, due to the corny/shallow title and the mildly cheesy cover. Boy, was my first impression about it wrong. Twenty Boy Summer still remains one of my favorite YA books, and I’m glad that I gave it a chance.

9. Forbidden – Tabitha Suzuma
This book still remains one of the most powerful stories I’ve read. There aren’t a whole lot of contemporary books about incest today, so that already gives Suzuma a leg up on all the romances and dystopians out there. To me, her writing is the most beautiful in this book as well. I’ve read some of her other books and so far they just haven’t compared to Forbidden. This story is the definition of heartbreaking, and even though I read it almost three years ago I still think about it a lot.

10. The Catcher in the Rye – J. D. Salinger
Okay, this one is on here mostly because of my intense crush on Holden Caulfield. Actually, it’s only on here because of my intense crush on Holden Caulfield.

Leave a Reply

