A Shimmer of Angels

Title: A Shimmer of Angels
Author: Lisa M. Basso
Publisher: Month9Books, LLC
Publication Date: January 29, 2013
Pages: 321
Genre: Paranormal
Source: NetGalley
Rating: 4/5

Summary from Goodreads- Sixteen-year-old Rayna sees angels, and has the medication and weekly therapy sessions to prove it. Now, in remission, Rayna starts fresh at a new school, lands a new job, and desperately tries for normalcy. She ignores signs that she may be slipping into the world she has tried so hard to climb out of. But these days, it’s more than just hallucinations that keep Rayna up at night. Students are dying, and she may be the only one who can stop it. Can she keep her job, her sanity, and her friends from dying at the hands of angels she can’t admit to seeing?

13572197

This was a fun, quick 2013 debut perfect for fans of Cynthia Hand’s Unearthly series and Becca Fitzpatrick’s Hush, Hush saga. Basso delivers Rayna’s story with wit, charm, and hints of suspense, making for quite an enjoyable read. Don’t let the shimmery, bright cover fool you; this story is dark and twisted from the get-go, complete with a mental hospital, murders made to look like suicides, and rogue Fallen angels. Oh, and there’s kind of a love triangle, which I really hope doesn’t result in Rayna choosing the guy who Fell for her mother, because that would be a bit too creepy. Basically, A Shimmer of Angels is perfect for anyone looking for a breath of fresh, paranormal air. The rest of the Angel Sight trilogy will continue in 2014 and 2015 (do I really have to wait that long?)

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s