Mixtape Mondays: Perfect Matches

I didn’t really have enough favorite love triangles to make a Top Ten post, so I’m just going to write about them and give them each a mini-soundtrack here. Team stickers courtesy of I’m Lovin’ Books. And in case anyone was wondering, yes, I am in fact a hopeless romantic.

6744940267_c9a9f78332_o

To me, this is the love triangle that started them all. I for one always hoped Katniss would end up with Peeta, because throughout the whole trilogy he let her be her tough self, but she could always show him her vulnerable side as well and he would never think less of her. They’ve both seen each other at their most vulnerable times, and while Gale may have been her friend for longer, seeing someone when they are in the most pain and sticking by them also provides strength for a relationship. I remember some fans were upset that Katniss chose to settle down and be a wife and mother, but to me, having power as a woman is all about utilizing our right to choose. On a slightly different note, something I really liked about The Hunger Games was that even though romance was certainly a part of the story, it was still really about Katniss and her struggles. All too often in YA lit (and the media in general, actually), romances end up being more about the male characters and their wants/needs even if a female is presented as the protagonist. Katniss is definitely a force to be reckoned with.

cd2-1

Song: Stay with Me – Sarah Jaffe

You say go, I’ll go
if you wanted to take it slow
we’ll take it slow
put your hands over my eyes
I’m happy to be blind

I’ll be damned
it’s happening again
in minutes we’ll see ourselves
in a whole new light
and pieces from our shelves
will take flight

Please stay with me
stay with me

7071416151_f47f5605ce_o

I was really surprised by how much I liked Maxon in Kiera Cass’s The Selection. When I read the summary about how America is basically forced into the competition against her will, I was certain I would be rooting for Aspen, her true love back home. However, I found myself feeling really irritated by Aspen, because he kept trying to make America’s decisions for her, like by breaking things off with her just before she goes to the palace because he doesn’t want her to marry into his lower caste. I was quite upset when Aspen showed up at the palace, because for a while there it seemed like America and Maxon were really hitting it off, and she was starting to like him. Team Maxon all the way!

220px-SaraBareillesLittleVoice

Song: Fairytale – Sara Bareilles

’cause I don’t care for your fairytales
You’re so worried about the maiden though you know
She’s only waiting on the next best thing

6956147003_116ebd6730_o

Obviously a series set in a world where love is treated as a disease is going to have a lot of romance. But like Katniss, Lena is her own character, and she drives the series rather than her romances. Love makes Lena stronger and motivates her to try and make things better for the world. Naturally, I loved Alex in Delirium and was heartbroken when he died, but I’ll admit by the end of PandemoniumI was starting to warm up to Julian a bit (but only a bit). But then of course MegaTwist happens on the last page and Alex shows up, significantly less dead, and for me that means Julian is history. Still, (and I know I said this in my review of Pandemonium, but whatever), Alex doesn’t really have a right to be angry with Lena for falling for someone else. She thought he was dead, for goodness sakes! Even though he was kind of a jerkbutt for his little scene in Pandemonium, I really hope they can move past the slight Julian thing and get back together. He was her first love, after all.

220px-The_Constant

Songs: It’s About to Get Worse – I Blame Coco

Lift up my eyes
And replace my mind
I hope you will fall
I hope you’ll fall in love with me again

sara-bareilles-kaleidoscope-heart

Hold My Heart – Sara Bareilles

Does anybody know how to hold my heart
How to hold my heart?
‘Cause I don’t want to let go, let go, let go too soon

6956082093_91c0f017eb_o

To be honest, I never really thought Xander had a chance with Cassia. I think they’d been friends for too long, and though Xander may have thought of Cassia as something more, it always seemed like she thought of him as more of a brother. Plus, Ky was the one who taught Cassia to read and write, which allowed her to stay connected to her beloved grandfather and add meaning to the lives of others with the Gallery, created in Reached.

8220644

Songs: Brave – stephanie dosen

And I’m brave
like a feeling I had
once upon a time…

ani-difranco-canon-cover-screen

Hypnotized – Ani DiFranco (*note: only the lyrics selected below really apply, but I still wanted to include this song because it reminded me of Ky teaching Cassia to read)

I was surrounded by a language
In which i could say only hello
And thank you very much
But you spoke so i could understand
And i drew a treasure map on your hand

6860182578_939a05ee4a_o

I really, really don’t like Christian. I don’t know why, but he just bugs the heck outta me. He’s super pushy with Clara even though he knows she’s in love with Tucker. And Tucker. I am so completely in love with that (sadly fictional) boy. He’s funny and charming and rugged. He’s a lumberjack-y bad boy, and is definitely one of my top fictional crushes. I loved Unearthly and Hallowed was almost as good (minus mildly cheesy ending), but I’m a little disappointed because right now it looks like Clara will be going for Christian. She’s always thinking about him when she’s with Tucker, and I guess it would make sense for them to be together, since Tucker is mortal and won’t live as long as Christian and Clara. But still. #teamtucker

12215

Song: Thinking of You – Katy Perry

Cause when I’m with him
I am thinking of you
Thinking of you 
What you would do if
You were the one 
Who was spending the night
Oh I wish that I
Was looking into your eyes

7071623281_0bc9aa1f89_o
Admittedly, I never finished the Wicked Lovely series. But, I do remember how much I liked Seth. It may have seemed like Aislinn and Keenan were fated to be together, but he was too cocky and perfect for my taste. Seth was both a good boyfriend and a good friend to Aislinn, and if the ending of Fragile Eternity was any indication, he’s willing to follow her wherever she goes to be with her, even if it’s dangerous for him.

B000A3DFWW.01._SCLZZZZZZZ_

Song: I Will Follow You Into the Dark – Death Cab for Cutie

Love of mine some day you will die
But I’ll be close behind
I’ll follow you into the dark

Leave a Reply

