Waiting on Global Warming

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Jill from Breaking the Spine, and specifically spotlights upcoming novels we can’t wait to read. As always, there are some amazing upcoming books, but this week I’m particularly excited for…

16059426

I just found out about Block’s upcoming release this week after checking out The Hobbitsies’ most recent In My Mailbox post, and let me tell you, I am SO EXCITED!! I, like so many other Francesca Lia Block fans, first fell in love with this amazing author through the acclaimed Weetzie Bat, and have read over 15 of her other books since then. While I have been dissappointed with most of her recent YA works, including Blood RosesPretty Dead, and especially The Frenzy, I started warming up to her again after reading Quakeland and my faith was fully restored following The Elementals. With Love in the Time of Global Warming, it seems that Block may once again be piggybacking off of other major YA trends as she did with The Frenzy and Pretty Dead (werewolves and vampires, respectively), I think if anyone can pull off a unique dystopian and add new blood to the genre, it’s Block. Can’t wait for August 27th!

2 thoughts on “Waiting on Global Warming

Leave a Reply

