Top Ten Most Frustrating Characters Ever

Top Ten Tuesday is an original meme created by the wonderful blog, The Broke and the Bookish, as they are particularly fond of lists over there. All they ask is participants link back to the site to share their lists with fellow bloggers. Check out The Broke and the Bookish for details on this great weekly feature!

This week’s topic is the top ten most frustrating characters ever.

1. Edward Cullen

edward_cullen[1]

Ugh. Even typing his name is giving me hives. He is probably the most irritating character of all time. He’s so obsessed with the fact that he doesn’t have a soul, and his broodiness just takes all of the supposed hotness right out of him. Double ugh. I just hate him

2. Harry Potter

pic_1300934441_1

I think the main reason Harry sometimes frustrated me was that he was just such a teenage boy. At least for the fifth book, he was super angry, which didn’t make it one of my favorites, and he also had a total hero-complex, which was understandable, but sometimes I wanted to be like, “Harry, get over yourself.”

3. Keir Sarafian

inexcusable

I hated this book. I guess that now, after years of reflection, I kind of get the point of it, but that doesn’t help me like it any better. Keir was just such an unlikable character even before he raped Gigi that it was hard for me to empathize or understand what he did. He was such a stupid asshole that it made the book hard to get through.

4. Draco Malfoy

Draco-Malfoy-draco-malfoy-13068289-391-516-1-

I guess picking characters from the same book is kind of cheating, but whatever. I adored Draco in all of his animosity and evil-ness. He’s on this list because I so wanted him to be good. Ah, Draco. Draco, Draco, Draco.

5. Bella Swan

Bella-swan-gallery_eclipse

Again, ew. Words cannot describe how much I hate the Twilight series, so naturally it’s a big feature on this list. Bella is beyond annoying. All she cares about is Edward. There are many, many examples I could give to prove how frustrating she is, but suffice it to say, she is a terrible example for teen girls, and it disheartens me that she is such a popular character. If you think Bella and Edward’s abusive relationship is romantic, you should probably reconsider that.

6. Heathcliff

hEATHCLIFF

The most frustrating character of all time. Or at least, right up there with Edward Cullen. Obviously Wuthering Heights is one of the greatest tragedies of English lit, and this man is right at its core. Sure, Heathcliff had a rough life, but he didn’t have to be such a jerkbutt, did he?

7. The narrator of Ethan Frome 

This guy was super creepy. When you read this book closely and critically, there’s a bunch of evidence showing you that the narrator has this idealized version of Frome in his head and that he idolizes him despite his major flaws. It annoyed me that he couldn’t see how idiotic Ethan was; he couldn’t see that he was making the same mistakes with women over and over again.

8. Susie Salmon

Susie-Salmon-susie-salmon-16598265-238-286

Of course, the first thing this girl does when she gets back on Earth is go see her boyfriend. Not check on her family, not try to point the authorities to evidence to put her murderer away, she goes to see her boyfriend. I did not like The Lovely Bones when I first read it, and a big reason why was because I didn’t think Susie was a very believable rape/murder victim. Sure, she’s a teenager, and love/hormones are a big part of that time of life, but I just couldn’t believe that she would choose to do something so petty after being traumatized.

9. Reece

15699491-1

See review here

10. America Singer

o3

She made the list because I personally think she’s an idiot not to fall for Maxon. I mean, really, leave Aspen in the dust, girl.

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Most Frustrating Characters Ever

  1. I totally forgot about Susie Salmon, but yes, definitely one of the most frustrating characters ever! I know likes of people really like The Lovely Bones, but like you, I just did not find Susie believable. Even her name annoys me.

Leave a Reply

