Waiting to be Severed

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Jill from Breaking the Spine, and specifically spotlights upcoming novels we can’t wait to read. As always, there are some amazing upcoming books, but this week I’m particularly excited for…

12383869
With the clock ticking until the virus takes its toll, Rhine is desperate for answers. After enduring Vaughn’s worst, Rhine finds an unlikely ally in his brother, an eccentric inventor named Reed. She takes refuge in his dilapidated house, though the people she left behind refuse to stay in the past. While Gabriel haunts Rhine’s memories, Cecily is determined to be at Rhine’s side, even if Linden’s feelings are still caught between them.

Meanwhile, Rowan’s growing involvement in an underground resistance compels Rhine to reach him before he does something that cannot be undone. But what she discovers along the way has alarming implications for her future—and about the past her parents never had the chance to explain.

I have really mixed feelings about the Chemical Garden trilogy. On the one hand, it is certainly dramatic and different, but on the other, I always feel terrible after I finish reading one. Nothing good happens to the characters; things seem to just get progressively worse as the book goes on. Plus, I sometimes feel like a terrible person when I read the books. I like Linden, and I want Rhine to like Linden, even though he does the many-wives thing. Although he doesn’t know that Vaughn stole some of his wives, he’s still buying into the business, and that makes me feel really weird about liking him. Well, that and the fact that he impregnates a 13-year-old. But still, he was really sweet to Rose and Jenna, and he respected Rhine’s wishes not to consummate the marriage, so there must be something good about him, right?

I also would like to see how Cecily’s character plays out in this book. I didn’t really like her in Wither, but in Fever, I was really impressed by how tough she got. But again, she’s a 14-year-old with a baby, and even in the context of DeStefano’s world, that is really depressing to read about. Plus, the book is called Sever: you know bad things are going to happen. Still, I feel like I ought to finish the trilogy since I’ve made it this far, so you’ll probably find a review of Sever in March when I can get it from the library.

2 thoughts on “Waiting to be Severed

  1. Good choice! I’m also conflicted about my feelings for this trilogy, but still like Linden and want to see how it all ends. Hope you find the series conclusion satisfying!

Leave a Reply

