TGIF: Book Appeal

TGIF was a feature at one of my favorite blogs, GReads. It’s a way to recap the week, talk about fun book things, and celebrate the weekend. Each week a bookish question was proposed as a way to get to know fellow bloggers and write about issues we care about.

This week’s topic is…

Book Appeal: When you’re browsing Goodreads, the library, or another blogger’s reviews, what grabs your attention and makes you want to read something?

Recently, I’ve been taking most of my book recommendations from other bloggers lately, and the thing that really grabs my attention when reading someone else’s review is when they say a book took them by surprise. I love it when I take a chance on a book from a genre I’m not as comfortable in, or a book I don’t have any big expectations for, and ends up completely winning me over.

For the past month or so on Goodreads, I seem more inclined to look at books whose covers haven’t been released yet, although it means they won’t be published for a long while. But, this way I’m only judging the book by the plot, whereas if I look at a book at the library or in Barnes & Noble, I am more inclined to let my feelings about the cover influence whether or not I read the book. I think that even though we may try not to let how a book looks influence whether or not we read it, most people do judge a book by its cover. Cover doesn’t always tell us what’s inside; a great book could be hidden beneath a really embarrassing cover you never want to be seen with, or a crappy book could have beautiful cover art.

But, that all being said, what makes really makes me pick up a book is a unique plot. What I mean by this is a storyline I haven’t seen before, a character from a background that isn’t shown a lot, a book about an issue I’m interested in, and really just anything that’s creative. I love a good story with lyrical writing that packs a punch, so that’s what I look for.

Leave a Reply

