Mixtape Mondays: Splintered

Mixtape Mondays is an original semi-weekly meme created right here at Bibliophilia, in which I get to combine my passions for books and music by creating soundtracks for a book of my choice.

This week’s pick is A. G. Howard’s Splintered, an absolutely phenomenal book by a 2013 debut author.

splintered ARC

UnknownSimon And Garfunkel Sounds of Silenceamanda-palmer-who-killed-amanda-palmer511-DiWwGSL

1246195365_post-1766458-1222516804HumanAgainimages516zigC2-iL

1. Treacherous – Taylor Swift – the perfect love song for Alyssa and Jeb
Put your lips close to mine
As long as they don’t touch
Out of focus, eye to eye
Till the gravity’s too much
And I’ll do anything you say
If you say it with your hands
And I’d be smart to walk away, but you’re quicksand

This slope is treacherous
This path is reckless
This slope is treacherous
And I, I, I like it

2. Sound of Silence – Simon & Garfunkel – for Alyssa, her mother, and the whole Lidell line
Hello darkness, my old friend
I’ve come to talk with you again
Because a vision softly creeping
Left its seeds while I was sleeping
And the vision that was planted in my brain
Still remains
Within the sound of silence

3. Runs in the Family – Amanda Palmer – for the Lidells
I cannot
Run from my family
They’re hiding inside me
Corpses on ice
Come in if you’d like
But just don’t tell my family
They’d never forgive me
They say that I’m crazy

4. Thick Skin – Hannah Georgas – from Morpheus to Alyssa
Come on down and pay a visit to the circus
It won’t cost you much
Just come prepared with some thick skin
We can all get along for the first five minutes
Then from there, just hold your breath
Try not to let your head spin, yeah

5. Two Faced Twin – Gregory & the Hawk – Alyssa for Morpheus
You’re a mirror with two faces
Two sides, simple as that
When I look at my reflection
Do I see myself?

6. End of the World – Ingrid Michaelson – Alyssa & Jeb
At the end of, at the end of the world
Will you find me, will you find me?
At the end of, at the end of the world
Will you find me so that we can go
Together, together, together.

7. Hunted by Ghosts – The Local Strangers – Alyssa in Wonderland
I am hunted by ghosts
They follow wherever I go
I try to run as fast as I can
They always seem to find me
They always know where I am

8. If You Want Me – Marketa Irglova – Alyssa for Jeb
Are you really here or am I dreaming
I can’t tell dreams from truth

Leave a Reply

