Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Bookish Memories

Top Ten Tuesday is an original meme created by the wonderful blog, The Broke and the Bookish, as they are particularly fond of lists over there. All they ask is participants link back to the site to share their lists with fellow bloggers. Check out The Broke and the Bookish for details on this great weekly feature!

This week’s topic covers our top ten bookish memories.

1. Going to Waterstone’s in London. I got some really great books there that you can’t get in the US, like Gabriel’s Angel, one of my all-time favorite books, and Marjorie Blackman’s Noughts and Crosses series, which also blew me away.

noughts_and_crosses_trilogy_4d9e03cbcd509

2. Receiving Glitch, my first ARC from NetGalley.

glitch400-250

3. Receiving The Weepers and The Peculiars in the mail from the publishers for review! Admittedly, I still have yet to read The Peculiars, but I really enjoyed the weepers and was really psyched to receive physical ARCs in my mailbox.

4. Jeannine Garsee thanking me for my review of The Unquiet. I don’t think I’ll ever stop being excited when an author comments on a post or thanks me for a review. It’s just a great feeling to know that authors actually read your reviews and appreciate them.

5. When Andrew Smith said that he was “flattered” by my Ryan Gosling meme for Passenger, the sequel to The Marbury Lens, via Facebook.

images

6. When Beth Kephart followed me on Twitter. I always get really excited when authors follow my Twitter account, but I absolutely love Beth Kephart, so that little click of a button meant a lot to me.

7. Going to the Baltimore Book Festival this past September. This was the first real bookish event that I’ve been too, and it was really exciting to be in an area with so many other book lovers. I got a really cheap copy of Imaginary Girls, a book about zine making, and a book of the complete poems of Audre Lorde! Plus, I discovered Red Emma’s, this alternative book store in Baltimore that I plan to go to a lot throughout my college career.

8. Booking my tour spot for Julianna Scott’s The Holders. I was super excited about this one because in her inquiry email, she told me she also played flute in college, and it was just really great to find there are other people like me who make it with passions for music and books.

tourgraphic-Large

9. Kelsey Sutton commenting on my Waiting on Wednesday post for Some Quiet Place saying it made her day! Plus, she gave me a heads-up that it will be available on NetGalley at some point!

10. Lauren Bjorkman emailing me via Goodreads asking if I’d like a signed bookmark as a token of appreciation for my review of Miss Fortune Cookie. I love swag as much as any book lover/blogger, and to get some for a review of one of my favorite reads of 2012 was even more cool.

miss-fortune-cookie-banner-copy

Leave a Reply

