Mini-Review: What Happens Next

Title: What Happens Next
Author: Colleen Clayton
Publisher: Poppy
Publication Date: October 9, 2012
Pages: 310
Genre: Contemporary
Source: Library
Rating: 4/5

Before the ski trip, sixteen-year-old Cassidy “Sid” Murphy was a cheerleader (at the bottom of the pyramid, but still…), a straight-A student, and a member of a solid trio of best friends. When she ends up on a ski lift next to handsome local college boy, Dax Windsor, she’s thrilled; but Dax takes everything from Sid—including a lock of her perfect red curls—and she can’t remember any of it.

Back home and unable to relate to her old friends, Sid drops her college prep classes and takes up residence in the A/V room with only Corey “The Living Stoner” Livingston for company. But as she gets to know Corey (slacker, baker, total dreamboat), Sid finds someone who truly makes her happy. Now, if she can just shake the nightmares and those few extra pounds, everything will be perfect… or so she thinks.

12819342

I had no intention of reading this book until I read a review of it at GReads. Ginger’s review convinced me this book was worth reading, despite the kind of lame title and kind of cheesy cover. Colleen Clayton’s debut was really good, but I do wish she had spent more time on Sid’s struggles with the rape specifically, rather than the bulimia, although I suppose that was part of the struggle. I really liked Sid as a heroine; she was spunky and insightful in a way not a lot of high school-aged protagonists are. I also really liked the romance with Corey, because he seemed very genuine to me, unlike the ‘perfect guys’ that are so prevalent in today’s YA lit. What Happens Next was definitely a worthwhile read, great for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson’s Speak or Wintergirls.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s