Top Ten Tuesday: Books on my Spring TBR List

Top Ten Tuesday is an original meme created by the wonderful blog, The Broke and the Bookish, as they are particularly fond of lists over there. All they ask is participants link back to the site to share their lists with fellow bloggers. Check out The Broke and the Bookish for details on this great weekly feature!

This week’s topic is to talk about the top ten books on your spring to-be-read list.

1. Requiem by Lauren Oliver
I bought this literally the second it came out, but I still have a couple more books to read before I get to this one. To be honest, I didn’t love Delirium when I first read it, but there was something about it that made me move on to Pandemonium anyway. Let me tell you, I LOVED Pandemonium. Especially the ending. Lauren Oliver: queen of plot twists, everybody. I can’t wait to see what happens next!

9593913

2. The Madness Underneath by Maureen Johnson
I debated reading The Name of the Star for a really long time and then basically impulse-bought it while I was in London. This series is the first of Maureen Johnson’s works that I really liked. I don’t know why, but not of her other books struck me in quite the same way. Johnson has really found her stride in the paranormal genre, and I hope she keeps it up with The Madness Underneath.

12937427

3. The Elite – Kiera Cass
I really enjoyed The Selection when I read it over the summer. I don’t know why it’s been described as the next Hunger Games or something, since it’s not like that at all. This series is more like a dystopian America’s Next Top Model. I’m not such a fan of Aspen (he’s too self-righteous for my taste) and I really hope America chooses Maxon. Oh, and that Celeste gets kicked out. That girl is a b****.

16248068

4. The Book of Broken Hearts – Sarah Ockler
If you’ve been following my blog long enough, you know that I rave about Sarah Ockler a lot. Admittedly, I’ve only read 20 Boy Summer, but that’s mostly because I’m afraid her other books wouldn’t be as good. After receiving this book from NetGalley and buying Bittersweet a couple weekends ago, I guess I’ll finally find out 🙂

15805597

5. Just One Day – Gayle Forman
Gayle Forman is another one of those authors I talk about a lot. She totally deserves all the hype she’s getting; If I Stay and Where She Went were absolutely beautiful. This book has been sitting on my Kindle since its release, but hopefully I’ll have some time this spring to actually read it.

12842115

6. Pivot Point – Kasie West
I don’t know why, but when I first read about Pivot Point I became excited about it instantaneously, and I’m convinced it’s going to be amazing. I have yet to read a bad review of it, and I’m super excited that it’s waiting for me to read over spring break!

11988046

7. Scarlet – Marissa Meyer
To be honest, I didn’t love Cinder when I first read it. I guess I must’ve liked something about it though, because I am quite looking forward to Scarlet.

13206760

8. Mila 2.0 – Debra Driza
I don’t usually go for science fiction-y type books, but I read a couple late last year/early 2013 and enjoyed them, so I figured I’d give this book a shot since it sounds so good. Plus, it comes out today!!

10222362

9. Taken – Erin Bowman
I heard about Taken a while ago and remembered really wanting to read it, but I still had to go back and look up the summary again for this week’s TTT. Every boy in Claysoot is taken on his 18th birthday, just literally vanishing into thin air in an event called the Heist. Grey Weathersby has to decide whether to risk the Heist or climbing the Wall after getting a mysterious note from his mother. I’m really interested to see how Bowman sets up a community run by women. This sounds like a really unique dystopian and I really wish I didn’t have to wait until April to read it!

11044367

10. Boundless – Cynthia Hand
I loved Unearthly and liked Hallowed well enough, so of course the finale of this series has to be on my TBR list. I have to say I don’t like the direction the love triangle is going, and it makes me mad that it makes more logical and practical sense for Clara to be with Christian, even though he annoys the heck out of me. Still, Clara is sharp and witty and I really enjoy reading her stories, so I’ll certainly be sticking around to see how everything all turns out.

13049981

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books on my Spring TBR List

  1. I really hope you get to these. If I had put any books that had already been published on my list at least 1/2 of these would have made it. I’m going to be very curious to see how you feel about Requiem and The Madness Underneath because I had been anticipating them for the same reasons you did. I wonder if you will feel the same about them as I did.

  2. You have so many good choices here! I didn’t love Delirium either, so I haven’t read Pandemonium. I probably won’t finish the series, though I’m more tempted to do so because of the television series.

    I just read Hallowed recently and am looking forward to Boundless. I think there are issues with the love triangle, too, and I think Christian needs to do something to actually make Clara like him. Right now everyone just seems to be imagining that they’re supposed to be in love, in my opinion.

  3. destinea4 says:

    Looks like a great list! I’m currently struggling to force myself through Delirium for my blog, though the other blogs I follow are PSYCHED for Requiem! Let’s see if I can get through the first one here…!

Leave a Reply

