Top Ten Books I Recommend the Most

Top Ten Tuesday is an original meme created by the wonderful blog, The Broke and the Bookish, as they are particularly fond of lists over there. All they ask is participants link back to the site to share their lists with fellow bloggers. Check out The Broke and the Bookish for details on this great weekly feature!

This week’s topic is the top ten books/authors I recommend the most.

1. The Mara Dyer trilogy by Michelle Hodkin – If you tell me you like YA, this is probably the first thing I will recommend to you. I was blown away by The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, and The Evolution of Mara Dyer gave me so many feels I didn’t know what to do with myself. Trust me; it’s that good.

2. Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke and Bone – I still haven’t read Days of Blood and Starlight yet, so I can’t recommend that, but I will say that if you like fantasy even a little, you will love Daughter of Smoke and Bone.

3. Beauty Queens by Libba Bray – This book is so fun and funny and wonderful. Just read it!

4. Beth Kephart – So far, Undercover is still my favorite book by her, but I always try to recommend her to my YA-loving friends because she deserves major recognition for how cool her books are.

5. Chuck Palahniuk – Diary and Lullaby are both on my favorite-books-of-all-time list, and I truly believe everyone should read at least one Chuck Palahniuk book in their lifetime.

6. Allie Condie’s Matched trilogy – If you enjoy dystopian novels, chances are you’ll fall for these ones, too. Admittedly, I think the first book was the best, but the rest of the series is definitely worth a read as well.

7. Parrotfish by Ellen Wittlinger – I love, love, loved this book. It was the first book about a transgender character I’d ever read, and it’s one of the first books I recommend to anyone looking for a great LGBT book.

8. Hard Love by Ellen Wittlinger – Okay, so I cheated a bit with two Ellen Wittlinger books, but she so deserves to be on here twice. This was the first book of hers I read, and it continues to inspire me years later.

9. Down to the Bone by Mayra Lazara Dole – Another LGBT-themed novel. I really wish more people knew about this book.

10. Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma – If you’re looking for something different and out of your comfort zone, look no further than this book. It’s thought-provoking and heart breaking, my favorite combination.

One thought on “Top Ten Books I Recommend the Most

Leave a Reply

