Scarlet

Title: Scarlet
Author: Marissa Meyer
Publisher: Fiewel & Friends
Publication Date: February 5, 2013
Pages: 452
Genre: Dystopian
Source: Library
Rating: 4/5

Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison—even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive.

Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.

13206760

I’ll admit it: I was not a big fan of Cinder, the first book in the Lunar Chronicles. While it was certainly different than any other dystopian (I mean, come on, it’s a retelling of Cinderella in the future!), it just wasn’t my cup of tea. Still, there was something about it that made me read Scarlet, and boy was I surprised by this book!

I loved Scarlet. Marissa Meyer’s writing style evolved into something unique and cool with Scarlet, and left me wanting more when I closed the book.

I think one of the things that made me prefer Scarlet over Cinder was that I felt like more was happening. I like books where there is more than one point of view, and I haven’t read one in a while, so Scarlet really filled that particular void for me. I also loved the cast of characters, from the eccentric Scarlet to the hard-but-soft Wolf, who I fell for instantly. I was glad to see the return of Iko, the sassy android, and the introduction of the flirtatious Captain Thorne, who I’d definitely want as my partner in crime.

Another special thing about this book is the fact that it’s written in third person. I’ve noticed that most young adult books being published today are written in first person. While that works for most of them, I’ve sometimes felt like writers limit themselves by giving themselves only one voice to work with. Third-person works extremely well for the Lunar Chronicles, and does the service of allowing the reader to see a lot more of Meyer’s world than if it had been written from Cinder or Scarlet’s first-person POVs.

In short, Scarlet was a huge surprise for me, and I hope Marissa Meyer keeps up the good work with the next installment in the Lunar Chronicles! (Oh 2014, why aren’t you now?!)

Leave a Reply

