TGIF: Book Disappointments

TGIF was a feature at one of my favorite blogs, GReads. It’s a way to recap the week, talk about fun book things, and celebrate the weekend. Each week a bookish question was proposed as a way to get to know fellow bloggers and write about issues we care about.

This week’s topic? Book Disappointments: Have you ever come across a book you were so stoked to read, but it failed miserably in your eyes?

5927595768192

Laura Wiess’ books have been some of the biggest disappointments for me in the past few years. I read Such a Pretty Girl in middle school and loved it, and have gone on to try some of her other books as well. Leftovers was a huge disappointment for me, and I just hated it. It was written partially in first person and partially in second person, which made it an annoying read. It was not well done at all. I didn’t even finish How it Ends because I really disliked the main character and found her extraordinarily irritating. I haven’t tried another Wiess book since, even though she’s come out with a few more books in the past couple years.

12367267

The Glimpse was another major let down. The premise sounded so cool and unique, but then it wasn’t carried out at all how I thought it would be. I really didn’t like Anna and found her too juvenile for a book with such a serious topic. My biggest problem with the book however, was the fact that it perpetuated negative stereotypes about people with mental illnesses. I was frustrated that I couldn’t tell if Claire Merle was supporting the stereotypes or making fun of them, and I feel like in a book about such a sensitive issue she should have made that clear. By far my biggest disappointment of 2012.

12750296

I almost didn’t read Dying to Know You because I knew it wouldn’t be as good as This is All, one of my all-time favorite books. Sadly, I was correct, and probably won’t read another Aidan Chambers book again to spare myself.

Leave a Reply

