The Monday Mix #1

The Monday Mix is a meme created by Alexa over at Alexa Loves Books. This meme post basically gives bloggers the opportunity to share some of their favorite posts from other sites from the past week. I love this idea because I often find posts that I love or want to read but don’t have time to, and The Monday Mix seems like a great way to keep track of things and share some blogger love.

So, here’s the roundup from last week:

1. The Examiner just published an article about some of the cool new book trailers that have been released. Featured in the article is Suzanne Young’s The Program, Firecracker by David Iserson, Julie Kagawa’s The Eternity Cure, and the sequel to Shadow & Bone, Leigh Bardugo’s Siege & Storm. I’ve only watched The Eternity Cure‘s trailer so far, but it’s definitely convinced me to pick up The Immortal Rules and get started on this series!

2. Anna of Anna Reads wrote a review of Invisibility, the collaboration between Andrea Cremer and David Levithan that’s coming out later this year. This is a book I’m super excited about; I loved Nightshade and David Levithan is just wonderful, so I can’t wait to see how their writing styles combine. Even though Anna wasn’t a big fan of the story, I still enjoyed getting to read about this book that I’m so looking forward to.

3. Novel Sounds created this wallpaper for Scarlet, the second book in the Lunar Chronicles, that now serves as the desktop for my computer. While I don’t love all of her designs, I thought this representation of Scarlet was interesting and very successful.

4. Tara of Fiction Folio wrote a Waiting on Wednesday post for Rainbow Rowell’s next book, Fangirl, another book I can’t wait to read. I read an ARC of Eleanor and Park and fell in love with Rowell and plan to read Attachments, her adult novel, over the summer to tide me over.

5. Pure Imagination’s Lori also wrote a Waiting on Wednesday post that I enjoyed, with books by Karen Foxlee, A. S. King, and Holly Black to look forward to. The Midnight Dress, Reality Boy, and The Coldest Girl in Coldtown are now on my TBR list as well!

6. At Ten Cent Notes, they made a playlist for Jennifer Smith’s delightful first novel, The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight. I love all the picks and wish we could exchange music.

7. I can’t even tell you how psyched I am for The Elite, and Tara’s review over at Hobbitsies isn’t making the waiting thing any easier. I liked her review because she was also surprised by the fact that she likes Maxon over Aspen. I was also glad to hear that Kiera Cass still keeps us guessing who America’s going to choose when the book ends, because this is a love triangle plot I don’t want to be over just yet.

8. Yesterday I read YA Bibliophile’s In My Mailbox post. At the end, she shows the book and swag for The Program that she’s giving to her book club this week, saying she’ll be making snacks inspired by the book, which I think sounds really fun (although I’m not too sure what kind of food she’ll be making based on a dystopian book about suicide). Finally, she lets us know that she’ll be posting about the book club, a giveaway, and the snacks at the end of the week! Can’t wait to have my own party for The Program!

Leave a Reply

