The (Sunday) Monday Mix

The Monday Mix is a meme created by Alexa over at Alexa Loves Books. This meme post basically gives bloggers the opportunity to share some of their favorite posts from other sites from the past week. I love this idea because I often find posts that I love or want to read but don’t have time to, and The Monday Mix seems like a great way to keep track of things and share some blogger love.

I’m publishing Kellie Sheridan’s guest post for the Mortality tour tomorrow, so here’s the Monday mix a bit early.

Posts about BEA:

1. I loved this post about NY bookstores from Alexa Loves Books. Looking at all the cool places I could go, I think I’ll definitely have to return to New York over the summer to add to my ever-growing TBR list.

2. I found Fiction Folio’s post on BEA tips and tricks really helpful because…I’M GOING TO BEA!!!!!! My mom and I are going on a book date as power readers, and I am beyond excited. Let me know if you’re coming, too! I’d love to meet some fellow book bloggers!

3. The Perpetual Page Turner recommended some places to eat. Now, I’m not sure if these are at BEA or in the surrounding area, but I can tell you I really want to eat at that dumpling place.

4. Here are some places to shop after you’ve fulfilled all your bookish desires, courtesy of a blog I recently discovered, Hello Chelly.

REVIEWS:

5. Novel Sounds reviewed This Is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith, author of the popular The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight. This book sounds cute and fun; the perfect summer read. Not something I’d buy, but definitely something I’ll be checking out from the library when I go home.

6. I read a review of a book called The Weird Sisters on Pure Imagination, and it certainly sold me. I don’t usually read adult books (okay, I don’t ever read adult books, Chuck Palahniuk excluded, because he’s super quirky and cool), but this one sounds so good I’m going to have to give it a try.

7. Tara at The Hobbitsies reviewed another book I’ve been waiting for, The Lucy Variations by Sara Zarr. She obviously thought very highly of it, so maybe this will be the Sara Zarr book that redeems her for me.

8. Over at Chick Loves Lit, The Distance Between Us, Kasie West’s second book this year, was reviewed. They confirmed some of the worries I had about it, but mostly thought it was pretty good, and I will certainly be reading it when it’s released. Pivot Point was amazing and I’m already having withdrawal symptoms that can only be cured by another Kasie West book. I also think it’s really cool that West is releasing two books in one year. I don’t know how common that is for YA authors, but I think it’s particularly great since they’re so different.

OTHER POSTS:

9. I love Anna Reads, and for this week’s Top Ten Tuesday, she posted the next ten books up for review. Her reviews are always thoughtful and concise, compulsively readable.

10. Anna also has a meme called “Awful Drawings of Things I Like in Books.” This week’s topic was poison. I really like this super cute meme, and maybe I’ll adopt it someday.

11. Finally, yesterday I read a post on YALSA called Love Plus: YA Books with More Than Romance. I love my YA romances, but they definitely need an extra punch for me to really love them.

One thought on “The (Sunday) Monday Mix

Leave a Reply

