Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Thought I’d Like More/Less Than I Did

Top Ten Tuesday is an original meme created by the wonderful blog, The Broke and the Bookish, as they are particularly fond of lists over there. All they ask is participants link back to the site to share their lists with fellow bloggers. Check out The Broke and the Bookish for details on this great weekly feature!

This week, I’ll be talking about books I thought I’d like more or less than I actually did.

Books I thought I’d like more:

417155_367240623309098_195817850451377_1169887_2084105440_n5927595imagesThe-Frenzyimages-1

1. The Glimpse – Claire Merle
This book sounded really good. I mean, what could go wrong in a dystopian novel set in a London where the mentally ill are separated from the normal “Pures”? Apparently everything. Besides the annoying, naive narrator, this book really perpetuated very negative stereotypes about the mentally ill. I was upset by this, especially since I couldn’t tell whether the author believed them or not. I find in books like this, it’s usually easy to tell if the author is parodying people’s views about an issue or not, but with The Glimpse, I just felt like she was making fun of people with mental illnesses. Do not read.

2. How it Ends – Laura Wiess
I loved Such a Pretty Girl, hated Leftovers, but wanted to give this book a shot because it sounded really good. I didn’t even finish it because I found the voice of the fifteen-year-old narrator so irritating. I am now super hesitant to try anything else by Laura Wiess.

3. The S-Word – Chelsea Pitcher
I thought this book could’ve been a great commentary on slut-shaming…boy was I wrong. This book was a hot mess, train wreck, etc. You know a book is bad when you actually laugh when bad things happen to characters that you would never, ever laugh at in real life. Just a mess.

4. The Frenzy – Francesca Lia Block
This book was hugely disappointing. Francesca Lia Block is a major love of mine, and this book was just so not her. I was shocked that the author of the Weetzie Bat books could write something so bad, but it happened. Not impressed.

5. Shiver – Maggie Steifvater
This is one of those books that I felt like everyone liked except me. It got rave reviews and still does, but I found the writing and the story to be lackluster. Maybe I’ve just had enough of werewolves?

Books I thought I’d like less:

9780316051590images51h-E5xAP0Lrev cover9593911

6. Twenty Boy Summer – Sarah Ockler
The cover was silly, the title was shallow, but the book…oh the book, it was SO. GOOD. Don’t judge a book by its cover, because it may end up being one of your all-time favorites.

7. Hold Still – Nina LaCour
I almost didn’t read this book because I thought it would be too depressing. That would have been a huge mistake, because Hold Still is at the top of my favorite books list. It is heartbreakingly beautiful, and is something I recommend often.

8. Love & Lies: Marisol’s Story – Ellen Wittlinger
This is another book I didn’t think I’d like because of the title, which is super lame. Also, Hard Love became one of my favorite books instantly, and I was worried this book wouldn’t be as good. While I still prefer Hard Love, Love & Lies was enjoyable and I don’t regret buying it in hardcover.

9. Revolution – Jennifer Donnelly
I was scared to read this book because I didn’t think anything could be as good as A Northern Light, which is one of my favorite books of all time, and it wasn’t. Still, I liked it considerably more than I thought I would and definitely don’t consider it a disappointment.

10. Pandemonium – Lauren Oliver
I bought Delirium, but only liked it okay, but for some reason I was still pushed to buy Pandemonium. I was blown away by the second book in this trilogy and now consider Lauren Oliver one of my favorite authors.

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Thought I’d Like More/Less Than I Did

  1. Laurie Parr says:

    I was really disapointed in The Elementals. It reminded me of a poorly written, choppy, novice attempt at YA. (In case you are intersted in nonbloger my opinion.)

    ________________________________

    • I still liked it better than “The Frenzy” and her more recent YA attempts. It definitely wasn’t as good as her other books, though. I feel like her writing has gotten more choppy and less lyrical, at least in her YA novels. It makes me very sad, because I love her 😦

  2. Glimpse looked so pretty and I gave it a go…And regretted it, for the same reasons you listed up there. Another case where you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover.

Leave a Reply

