The Selection: A Rant

url

This rant is not actually about the book itself, just the media reaction to the book. I love this series. It’s exciting and fun and light, a dystopian America’s Next Top Model. The thing I want to rant about is the fact that everyone keeps calling it “the next Hunger Games.” Let me tell you, this book is nothing like The Hunger Games. Sure, there’s a contest where only one will be left by the end, but that’s where the resemblance ends.

The Hunger Games was violent and entertaining, but also made important comments about our society’s desensitized attitude toward violence due to the entertainment industry, and about our capitalist consumerist culture (or that’s how I interpreted it, anyway). There is so much in The Hunger Games. To me, The Selection is pure entertainment, and I definitely don’t mean that as a negative.

Earth to the media: not all dystopian books qualify as “the next Hunger Games.” If you  go into this book expecting the next Hunger Games, you will be sorely disappointed. The Selection to me is more of a dystopian fairytale, with enough romance to make you swoon.

No media. You don’t understand.

3 thoughts on “The Selection: A Rant

    • why thank you 🙂

      It was really more of a rant than a review (hence title). It just really irritates me that these series keep getting compared when they’re so different (I know, I’m a nerd).

  1. i agree with you 100% on the general public assumption on all things dystopia and i think that it’s great to know that there are others like me who read and enjoy all of the different stories out there that can be categorized in a similar way.

Leave a Reply

