The Monday Mix #3

The Monday Mix is a meme created by Alexa over at Alexa Loves Books. This meme post basically gives bloggers the opportunity to share some of their favorite posts from other sites from the past week. I love this idea because I often find posts that I love or want to read but don’t have time to, and The Monday Mix seems like a great way to keep track of things and share some blogger love.

1. Pure Imagination did a post about some recent cover changes. I don’t know how I feel about the changes made to Anna and the French Kiss and Lola and the Boy Next Door, because I thought the original cover of Lola was super cute. I think the original cover for Virals was better, as was the cover for Throne of Glass. I do like the new cover for Smart Girls Get What They Want because I like that style of image. I like the new cover for Level 2, but not the title, and I’ll probably keep calling it Level 2 forever. I don’t really have an opinion about the cover for Crank, but I like the new cover of The Symptoms of my Insanity better as well.

2. I am super jealous of Finding Bliss in Books’ book haul. I cant wait to read all six of those books and her review of The Program, released today. All those books sound fantastic.

3. This article wasn’t from last week, but I’m including it anyway because it’s about how GILES IS GOING TO BE IN THE SELECTION!!!!!! I’m not really sure how I feel about that casting choice for Maxon’s father, the king, but it’s Anthony Head and I love him, so I’m willing to give him a shot.

4. I really like the idea of making a to-read list of books to read before BEA that Hobbitsies created after another blog, since I have a lot of digital ARCs I still need to read. I also love making lists, so perhaps I’ll be publishing my own Books Before BEA list at some point soon

5. I thought this was a pretty good article about people who go into a movie without having read the book it’s based off of. This is particularly prevalent because so many great YA books have been optioned off recently, including Delirium (as a TV show), Forest of Hands and Teeth, and The Fault in Our Stars (how they picked Shailene Woodley for Hazel I don’t know). While it’s great that these books are getting attention, I’m afraid that people will see the movie rather than read the book, and I doubt any of these movies will be as good as their written inspirations.

6. This article from Between the Lines brought to my attention something I’d never consciously thought about before. I totally got what the author was saying about it being embarrassing for adults and teens to go into the children’s section for a YA book. I’ve also found that some books that get put in the children’s section really shouldn’t be there, and I wonder how they decided where to put the book. I was also shocked to find that adults make up the largest percentage of people purchasing and reading YA, and want to do some of my own research into this topic as well.

7. I liked the graphics in The Perpetual Pageturner’s Top Ten Tuesday post about books she thought she’d like more or less. This post also brought my attention to a couple books I want to try.

8. I enjoyed reading Chick Loves Lit’s blog tour post for The Rules by Stacey Kade. This book has been hovering around the edges of my radar for a while but now it’s definitely on my to-read list.

9. The Story Siren published her own BEA tips. I’m glad she talked about food, because that’s something I’m a little worried about. She advises against just bringing a granola bar and a water, which I totally understand because all that book excitement will definitely make me hungry. I don’t know if I’d go to the cheese-plate-and-crab place that Kristen went to, but the waffle place certainly sounded appealing. Got any other food recs for me?

10. I really enjoyed the post that Tara of Fiction Folio wrote about books on mental illness. I was pleased to see Freaks Like Us made the list, since I really liked that one as well. Mental illness is something I think should be covered more in YA lit, because it’s not always safe to talk about it in everyday society, and it’s nice to know that you’re not alone.

11. Earlier this week, The Examiner posted about the title of the third book in The Selection series. I suppose I understand why it’s being called The One, but personally, I felt like the title was a bit anticlimactic.

Leave a Reply

