Top Ten Words/Topics That Instantly Make Me Buy/Pick Up A Book

Top Ten Tuesday is an original meme created by the wonderful blog, The Broke and the Bookish, as they are particularly fond of lists over there. All they ask is participants link back to the site to share their lists with fellow bloggers. Check out The Broke and the Bookish for details on this great weekly feature!

This week’s topic is the top ten words or topics that instantly make me pick up or buy a book.

1. Stunning – No matter what the book is about, if it is described as “stunning” I will pick it up.

2. Lyrical – Same as above. Give me lyrical or give me death

3. Music – As a musician, I love reading about other young instrumentalists, vocalists, etc. A perfect example of this was Where She Went, when Gayle Forman wrote about a famous Venezuelan conductor I had studied the same year I read the book. Music is a powerful force and makes for very emotional reading.

if+i+stay

4. Mental illness (suicide, depression, etc.) – This is a topic near and dear to my heart. I wish there were more YA books on this subject, because young adulthood is often when mental illnesses hit.

13416089

5. London – I love books set in London, partially because I went there last year. I love books set in any foreign city, really, but London is a particular favorite.

The-Name-of-the-Star-UK

6. Road trips or travel – Road trips make for really fun books.

Fingerprints+of+You

7. Art – I don’t know why, but I really enjoy books about art, whether it be painting, drawing, or photography. Maybe it’s because I myself am dreadful at these things, but I just find it so moving to read about young artists.

HoldStill_112409

8. Dystopia – If you’re a dystopian book, chances are I’ll pick you up and give you a try. I think I keep reading dystopia because I want to find something other than the revolution plotline, because although I do enjoy it, sometimes I get a little tired of it. I do love me some dystopia, though.

11556960

9. LGBT – Another topic I wish was covered more in YA.

Pink

10. ZombiesMortality made me hungry for more zombie books. Give ’em here!

forest-of-hands-and-teeth

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Words/Topics That Instantly Make Me Buy/Pick Up A Book

Leave a Reply

