Monday Mix #7

1. This post about the Watersong series basically proved to me again that Amanda Hocking is the coolest author ever. I definitely wouldn’t have known the series was partially based on The Taming of the Shrew (mostly because I haven’t read/seen it), but I love Shakespeare so that was an interesting bit of information. I’m also amused by the fact that Alex’s middle name is Leonard.

Poster-1

2. I feel like a bit of a stalker for knowing what author Marissa Meyer keeps on her desk, but since she’s the one would told us in one of her recent posts, I guess it’s okay. Plus, author stalking is the best kind of stalking.

lunarchronicles_logo_6192

3. I really enjoyed Ruby’s Reads’ adorable post about creating the perfect outdoor reading nook. This definitely makes me want to create my own nook for the summer.

4. I love cooking and baking, so I really liked this post on Epic Reads on YA inspired recipes. I’ll probably be adding these recipes to my arsenal over the summer.

 divergent-cake

5. This post by The Grownup YA about books set in NYC will probably lead me to make my own post soon about books set in London. Coming up!

travel-by-book1

6. I really, really like Jaime of the Perpetual Page Turner. Her post about “important” BEA info made me like her even more. All of her BEA faces are hilarious and super cute, and hopefully I’ll see some of them when I go to BEA!

BEA2-1024x725

7. It really bothers me when people reduce YA to just a couple books. I totally agreed with everything Stacked Books said in their post “The Reductive Approach to YA.” This post was mostly about how certain reviewers are reducing all contemporary YA to “Green lit” (as in John Green, of course). I like John Green, personally, but I don’t necessarily think he’s the most amazing YA writer. Reducing a whole genre to one author or book is unfair, because books are so diverse and different.
8. I actually liked most of the cover changes in Pure Imagination’s most recent Cover Changes post. Usually, I don’t like cover changes, but this week, I liked most of the covers equally or better. I liked both covers for The Disenchantments, The Catastrophic History of You and Me, Perfect Escape, and Code Name Verity. First Comes Love by Katie Kacvinsky definitely needed a makeover from its first cheesy cover. The only cover makeover I didn’t like as much was the one for Just One Day, because I feel like I’ve seen that cover so many times.

11699055-198x30016101171-199x300

9. Oh YALSA, how I love you. This post pairing books and “table-top games” together was great, and made me want to try all the games listed. #whenyarelatestoreallife

10. I just have one question about the YA Sisterhood’s YA crush nominations: WHY IS NOAH SHAW NOT ON THIS LIST?!

Leave a Reply

