Top Ten Tuesday: Freebie!

Top Ten Tuesday is an original meme created by the wonderful blog, The Broke and the Bookish, as they are particularly fond of lists over there. All they ask is participants link back to the site to share their lists with fellow bloggers. Check out The Broke and the Bookish for details on this great weekly feature!

For this week’s Top Ten Tuesday freebie post, I’ll be writing about my favorite YA books about books featuring music/musicians

1. If I Stay – Gayle Forman
I’m cheating a bit with this one both because I’m using both books in this beautiful duo and because this book doesn’t feature music as strongly as its companion. Still, music is definitely important, especially in one of my favorite romantic scenes of all time where Adam tells Mia to “play him like a guitar.”

If+I+Stay+paperback

2. Where She Went – Gayle Forman
The companion to If I Stay is much more musically focused, and has Adam as the narrator! I was worried about that when I first started the book, but I loved him just as much as Mia, and everything was perfect. This book even talks about a real conductor in Venezuela who conducts competitive youth orchestras to keep kids off the streets.

8492825

3. The Sky is Everywhere – Jandi Nelson
This book. Do I even have to say anything about how amazing it is? I’ve written about it so many times I’ve lost count. Basically, it’s one of the best books I’ve ever read, and everyone should read it and experience the magics.

6604794

4. The Lucy Variations – Sara Zarr
As I said in my review last week, The Lucy Variations isn’t my favorite Sara Zarr book, but it’s definitely better than her post-Story of a Girl work. I really related to Lucy’s struggles and found her story powerful, even though I didn’t like the writing as much as I’d hoped.

lucy

5. Virtuosity – Jessica Martinez
This book is similar to The Lucy Variations in that both protagonists are child stars who compete and perform worldwide, but I liked Virtuosity much better. There’s a lot more drama and romance, and it has the type of unresolved ending that I love in a book.

10668038

6. A Note of Madness – Tabitha Suzuma
This was an intense book. I didn’t like it as well as Forbidden, but it still had to be on this list because it’s about two of my favorite topics, mental illness and music. It also does a really good job of depicting how those two things feed into each other. If only the sequel, A Voice in the Distance, was available in the U. S.!

1822182

7. Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist – Rachel Cohn & David Levithan
A cool, quirky, artsy romance.

944704

8. Somebody Everybody Listens To – Suzanne Supplee
This is a cute book about an aspiring country singer. I liked the little profiles of famous country artists included before the chapters, and thought the story was decent as well. This was definitely different than other music books I’ve read because of the country part.

7129192

9. Chantress – Amy Butler Greenfield
Sing and the darkness will find you. Basically, the plot of this great debut.

13721337

10. The Sweetest Dark – Shana Abe
Lora hears songs no one else can that lead her to her destiny and the love of her life. Really, really enjoyed this one.

thesweetestdark

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Freebie!

Leave a Reply

