Wish

6a01156fbb1c3d970c017ee90009e2970d-400wi

Title: Wish
Author: Beth Bracken, Kay Fraser, Odessa Sawyer
Publisher: Stone Arch Books
Publication Date: April 1, 2013
Pages: 304
Genre: Fantasy
Source: BEA
Rating: 5/5

With one wish made in Willow Forest, Soli and Lucy are pulled into Faerieground – and into the middle of an ancient battle. In the faerie kingdom, an evil queen searchesfor her daughter while the palace crumbles. To save her best friend, Soli must find her hidden strength. Experience this beautiful story about friendship, growing up and the power of wishes.

51hkEQvbb4L._SY300_

I don’t know exactly why I wanted this book so much, but when I saw it at Capstone’s booth at BEA, I knew I had to have it. Maybe I was a teeny bit resentful that NetGalley had rejected my request for it, but whatever. I wanted it. I was not deterred when the Capstone rep said it was written for ages 11-13, though I have never reviewed middle grade on my blog, nor did it matter I had to wait almost an hour to get one of the last two copies of it.

I am so glad I waited. I absolutely adored this book. Sure, it’s written for a younger audience, but fantasy lovers of all ages will be able to find joy in this beautiful story. The illustrations were captivating and enchanting, as was the story they told. Bracken’s writing was so lyrical the book almost read as if it had been written in verse.

I loved that even though the story was written for a younger audience, Bracken still managed to introduce elements of darkness into this gorgeous fairytale. The seedy undertones of this book were part of what held my interest, especially concerning Queen Calandra and her fairies. These fairies are not the glittery gold types often found in stories for younger kids. They are dark and dangerous and are not to be trusted.

I also loved how the romance developed. The evolution of the romance mirrored Soli’s own evolution. As she became more comfortable within herself and found her own strength, she was able to reach out to others as well and let her guard down.

Basically, you should read this book. It left me with warm, fuzzy, glittery feelings and made me wish (NOT IN THE FAERIEGROUND!) it was September 2nd so I could read Hope, the second book in this beautiful series.

green5

One thought on “Wish

Leave a Reply

