Rewind & Review: May 2013

This is a new feature I discovered on a cool blog called Bookshelvers Anonymous.

Rewind & Review is a monthly book blog hop where we review the previous month. We talk about books we bought, received for review, or were given as gifts, as well as recap our posts. Other options include recapping hot topics, highlighting great comments, or trumpeting favorite reviews.

If you would like to post your own Rewind & Review meme post, just follow the instructions:

– Create a blog post detailing your month in review. Those details can include the suggestions above or something I’ve haven’t mentioned. It’s all up to you.

– Place the meme button somewhere in your post AND give credit to Bookshelvers Anonymous. (No stealing.)

– Link to Bookshelvers Anonymous somewhere in your post.

– Consider adding the meme button somewhere on your site for others to follow. THIS IS NOT REQUIRED. However, it’d be awfully nice of you.

– Once your post has aired, add the link to your post to the link list below. When you add your link, I pinky promise to visit your post and comment, and putting the link will make it easier for others to find you as well.

rewindandreview

Challenges

This month I read five debuts, bringing my number of books read for the Debut Author Challenge up to 21. I also challenged myself to read 20 books before BEA, but only got through eight. The books on that list are now on a “Books Before End of Summer” list.

Reviews

This month, unfortunately, the not-so-great books overshadowed the good books for me near the end of the month. I was really disappointed in The Madness Underneath, Love and Other Perishable Items, and hated Zenn Scarlett. My favorites by far were Pretty Girl-13, Dark Companion, and The Elite. However, I was also surprised by how much I enjoyed Chantress, a fantasy debut, and The Sweetest Dark.

Chantress – Amy Butler Greenfield
Sever – Lauren DeStefano
Zenn Scarlett – Christian Schoon
Riptide – Lindsey Scheibe
The Madman’s Daughter – Megan Shepherd
Dark Companion – Marta Acosta
Love and Other Perishable Items – Laura Buzo
Pretty Girl-13 – Liz Coley
The Lucy Variations – Sara Zarr
The Sweetest Dark – Shana Abe
The Madness Underneath – Maureen Johnson
The Elite – Kiera Cass

13721337Sever16071885157523421229143812436013love+and+other+perishable+items9780062127389lucythesweetestdark1293742716248068

Meme Posts

THE MONDAY MIX:
Mix 4
Mix 5
Mix 6
Mix 7

TOP TEN TUESDAY:
Books for When you Need Something Light and Fun
Books Dealing with Tough Subjects
Favorite Covers of Books I’ve Read
Freebie: Books About Music/Musicians

WAITING ON WEDNESDAY:
Unhinged
The Coldest Girl in Coldtown
Fire with Fire
Smoke

1744919712813630106624208664957

Other Posts

DAC May 2013
Books Before BEA
YA Cover Trends Part 1: Girls, Girls, Girls
Cover Makeovers: Sonya Sones
New Header
Books to TV
2013 A Letdown Year?

Bought, Gifted, and Received

I bought The Program this month since I’ve been really wanting to read it. I also bought Let the Sky Fall on sale for $2.99 on Amazon!

1136639713445306

For Kindle:
The Program – Suzanne Young
Let the Sky Fall – Shannon Messenger

I also went to the Strand for the first time (!) last Tuesday with a book-loving friend. He was very tolerant of my fangirling over the amount of new, inexpensive YA books ($9 for hardcover and $5 for paperback!!) At one point I actually kind of fell to the floor and made happy noises as children walked by giving me strange looks.

15770498107827531572164515752348

From the Strand:
The Language Inside – Holly Thompson
Live Through This – Mindi Scott
The Different Girl – Gordon Dahlquist (debut)
My Life After Now – Jessica Verdi (debut)

The best books I checked out from the library this month were Pretty Girl-13, which now has a spot on my favorite books list, and Dark Companion, a super quirky debut from 2012. My least favorite check out was Love & Other Perishable Items, which was not as cool as I’d hoped it would be. I ended up returning Starstruck without reading it because I wasn’t in the mood for it, and I’m not sure if I want Unspoken or Something Strange and Deadly right now since I have so many e-galleys and books from BEA.

1229143812436013985943611819981953665713450398115444761108666241357283513049981

Checked out from library:
The Madman’s Daughter – Megan Shepherd (debut)
Dark Companion – Marta Acosta
Something Strange and Deadly – Susan Dennard
The Lucy Variations – Sara Zarr
Starstruck – Cyn Balog
Pretty Girl-13 – Liz Coley (debut)
When We Wake – Karen Healey
Unspoken – Sarah Rees Brennan
Love & Other Perishable Items – Laura Buzo
Boundless – Cynthia Hand

I also got some exciting books from Edelweiss this month, including one of my most anticipated debuts, Corey Ann Haydu’s OCD Love Story. I also got a digital ARC of the sequel to Masque of the Red Death, Dance of the Red Death, which I am super psyched about. Thank you, Edelweiss!

9780062107824_0_Cover13326677

From Edelweiss:
Dance of the Red Death – Bethany Griffin
OCD Love Story – Corey Ann Haydu (debut)

In addition, I got a bunch of books from Edelweiss. I’m really excited to read All Our Pretty Songs, which combines fantasy and music things, and I also got a few quirky-sounding indie books that seem interesting as well.

160451201474448913265293157523401785973317726599imagescover31411-mediumcover31410-medium

From NetGalley:
All Our Pretty Songs – Sarah McGarry (debut)
The Summer I Became a Nerd – Leah Rae Miller (debut)
Hidden – Marianne Curley
Gated – Amy Christine Parker (debut)
Skin – Donna Jo Napoli
Follow the White Rabbit – Kellie Sherida
The Scourge – A. G. Henly
Taking Back Forever – Karen A. Hooper
Secret for a Song – S. K. Falls

Leave a Reply

