Cover Changes: Meg Rosoff

How I Live Now is one of my all-time favorite books.

Here is the first cover:

333901

It wasn’t too interesting or alluring or anything, but it was probably different from most other covers out at the time.

Here is the second cover in the same year (2004):

161426

This is the cover I own. I really like it. I don’t understand why they would change it…

…but, they did:

1145519

I totally don’t get this cover. Why the hair? Why does it look like some Victorian romance or something? Yeah, there’s romance, but it’s completely nontraditional and controversial. This cover is boring and too pretty, and doesn’t represent the book well at all. This book is moving and powerful, and this cover makes it look frilly and meh.

Leave a Reply

