Monday Mix #9

1. I always enjoy All Things Urban Fantasy’s Cover Art Coverage posts. This week my favorite covers were MonstersInfinite, Waterfell, and All Our Yesterdays. My least favorite covers were Heart of Stone (I’m really not a fan of shirtless man covers) and Everything Breaks, which just looked totally ridiculous to me.

Best:

978-1-60684-177-8AllOurYesterdays_bookcover-682x1024Waterfell-by-Amalie-Howard13085374

Worst:

176190139780399250880

2. In this post on One Four Kid Lit, authors shared why they enjoy writing and/or reading middle grade books. I thought their answers were very amusing and touching, and made me see middle grade books in a different way.

3. I almost bought Jacqueline Green’s Truth or Dare on a trip to the Strand the week of BEA, so I was glad to hear from this review that it’s at least worth a read. It certainly sounds like a fun, summer book.

DareSix

4. Jodi Meadows revealed the title and cover for the third book in the New Soul trilogy! I had mixed feelings about Incarnate, but I’ve found myself wanting to reread it, and I’ve been trying to get to Asunder since it came out, but no libraries in my state have it and I’m not sure if I want to buy it or not.

13085374

5. I went to Romily Bernard’s signing at BEA, so of course I had to put Pitch Dark’s playlist for Find Me on this week’s MM. I love playlists inspired by books, and I’m sure I’ll enjoy the book behind it even more.

find-me-romily-bernard

6. Am I ever going to write a Monday Mix without a post from YALSA? Probably not. This week’s gem from YALSA is a post on trends from BEA, namely, crossovers. I didn’t know what they meant by crossovers at first, but it appears to be just another name for new adult, a genre I am quite intrigued by since that is the age I’m at. I was pleased to see Fangirl on the list (gotta love me some Rainbow Rowell) as well as a debut I received from Netgalley called If You Could Be Mine, a novel about two lesbian women in Iran.

7. Many of you probably remember the infamous article by the Wall Street Journal discussing the dangers of letting teens read such “dark” books. Kelly Jensen, a blogger at Stacked, discusses her love of dark contemporary YA in this guest post at Book Riot, explaining that the books are “anything but angst.” In Kelly’s view, so-called “dark” YA is disturbing for the characters and the reader. Two examples I’ve read recently that come to mind are Adele Griffin’s All You Never Wanted (probably the creepiest YA I’ve ever read), and Liz Coley’s fantastic debut, Pretty Girl-13 (which comes in as a very close second). She also provided a list of some of her favorites, forcing me to add even more books to my TBR list.

8. At the Broke and the Bookish, Tahleen posted her thoughts on reading large books as a blogger, making me think about my book length preferences as well. I think I was more willing to read longer books before I became a blogger, because I really try my best to get out at least a couple of reviews per week. I also prefer reading long books in print rather than on the Kindle, because I always find myself staring down the percent sign wondering when it’s going to go up a number.

9. Can I get an “amen!” to Stormy’s post about romance in YA? I don’t have a problem with romance in YA either, but I don’t understand why practically every young adult book has to have romance in it. I also agreed with what she said about most female protagonists never having dated before, and the guys in YA getting romance (or at least sex) first. Is romance more of a rite of passage for women than men? Is that the message of YA? It certainly seems that women are portrayed as more innocent than men. But anyway, thank you for starting this discussion, Stormy. You are cool.

10. Thanks to the gals over at EpicReads, I now know how to do a book shimmy. Or rather, I now know that’s one of the reactions I have while reading a really good book. My top three favorite shimmies are those of Lauren Oliver (cheeky shimmy), Kat Zhang (bouncing shimmy), and Romily Bernard (shimmy explosion). I myself find I most often do the shimmy explosion. And yes, I do have witnesses to back this up.

11. Tumblr post! Paper Lantern Lit did an author spotlight on Julie Anne Peters, who is known for writing books focusing on LGBT teens. This post also includes an interview with Peters and Malinda Lo, also a prominent writer of LGBT lit (y’all need to read her book Ash, just btw).

12. Katie Stout explained why she loves reading and writing YA here. I relate to all her reasons, in particular regarding creativity and the rawness of the emotion. I think writers in the YA genre almost have more freedom to be creative than authors of adult books, because YA is evolving, and it’s evolving now.

13. I totally agreed with Megan’s post at Book Brats about why John Green isn’t all that. Admittedly, I’ve only read three of his books, and while I did really like The Fault in Our Stars, I still think there are other YA contemp authors who are much better than John Green and get much less recognition than he does. I remember hearing and reading about lots of authors saying that Looking for Alaska “changed their lives” or whatever, but looking back, the only thing I remember about that book was the toothpaste blowjob.

John-Green-Author-Interview-Books

2 thoughts on “Monday Mix #9

  1. Thanks for the link love! And I think I agree with you & Megan on John Green. I like his books(I really loved Looking for Alaska–THAT one got 5 stars from me), but the other two I’ve read weren’t anything special. They were good, but there ARE other contemporary writers out there.

  2. Hee! I enjoy a good book explosion. Sometimes I even break it out for cupcakes…pizza…ice cream…pretty much all good stuff deserves a shimmy 🙂

    Really like Kelly’s post. Thanks for including. I too now have more books to read.

Leave a Reply

