Some Quiet Place

Title: Some Quiet Place
Author: Kelsey Sutton
Publisher: Flux
Publication Date: July 8, 2013
Pages: 350
Genre: Paranormal
Source: Author/BEA
Rating: 4/5

Elizabeth Caldwell doesn’t feel emotions . . . she sees them. Longing, Shame, and Courage materialize around her classmates. Fury and Resentment appear in her dysfunctional home. They’ve all given up on Elizabeth because she doesn’t succumb to their touch. All, that is, save one—Fear. He’s intrigued by her, as desperate to understand the accident that changed Elizabeth’s life as she is herself.

Elizabeth and Fear both sense that the key to her past is hidden in the dream paintings she hides in the family barn. But a shadowy menace has begun to stalk her, and try as she might, Elizabeth can barely avoid the brutality of her life long enough to uncover the truth about herself. When it matters most, will she be able to rely on Fear to save her?

15710557-1

To be honest, I was a little worried about this book. I’ve been wanting to read it for months, but it sounded so great that I was concerned the author couldn’t pull it off. I mean, a girl who can’t feel emotions as a narrator? How was that going to work?

I can happily say that Kelsey Sutton pulled off writing an emotionless narrator perfectly. The voice was completely believable and different from pretty much every other book I’ve read this year. Elizabeth’s voice had a stately elegance about it that I really liked and that fit her situation very well.

I’ve already mentioned the uniqueness of the plot, but it’s worth bringing up again. I feel like I keep seeing more of the same old stories again and again, so Some Quiet Place was a real breath of fresh air.

It’s also worth mentioning how much I loved Fear. This probably won’t make sense to you until you read the book, but seriously, he was fabulous *SWOONS*. He was beautiful and quirky and complicated, so different from most YA men these days. Oh, and did I mention he smells like strawberries?

The only thing I didn’t like so much about Kelsey Sutton’s debut was the whole (SPOILERS!) Elizabeth-is-actually-Rebecca thing. I got it and it made sense, but I personally feel kind of cheated when you get to know a character and then it turns out they’re actually a version of someone else from the past, or whatever. However, I loved everything else about the book so I think it definitely deserves a high rating.

Basically, Some Quiet Place is a debut you need to read. If you’re looking for a story you’ve never read before with characters who will surprise you, this is your book.

coral4

One thought on “Some Quiet Place

  1. I used to read Francine Pascal’s Fearless series, so I was pretty sure the ’emotionless’ angle would work if well written. Glad to hear Fear’s character is well written as well. This is definitely going onto my ‘must read’ mental shelf! 🙂 Lovely review.

Leave a Reply

