Insomnia

xinsomniafeature-350x155.jpg.pagespeed.ic.4MNEwaw4Cu

Title: Insomnia
Author: J. R. Johansson
Publisher: Flux
Publication Date: June 8, 2013
Pages: 351
Genre: Thriller
Source: NetGalley
Rating: 3/5

Her eyes saved his life.
Her dreams released his darkness.

After four years of sleeplessness, high school junior Parker Chipp can’t take much more. Every night, instead of sleeping, he enters the dreams of the last person he’s made eye contact with. If he doesn’t sleep soon, Parker will die.

Then he meets Mia. Her dreams, calm and beautifully uncomplicated, allow him blissful rest that is utterly addictive. But what starts out as a chance meeting turns into an obsession; Parker’s furious desire for what he needs pushes him to extremes he never thought he’d go. And when someone begins to terrorizing Mia with twisted death threats, Parker’s memory blackouts leave him doubting his own innocence.

12260608

This book had the potential to be amazing. When I first read about it, I thought it would be right up my alley, between the creep factor and the psychological thriller thing.

While there definitely were some good parts of this book, as a whole, I didn’t feel like the tension and suspense was as great as it could have been. I don’t know quite why, but for whatever reason, this book didn’t keep me on the edge of my seat like I expected it to.

I feel like the psychological aspect of the book was almost there, but I wanted Johansson to go even deeper into Parker’s crazy. I can say that Johansson did keep me guessing until the end what was going on and that the ending was unexpected, but I didn’t get the gut-churning suspense I’d hoped the book would deliver.

I’m glad the book ended unexpectedly, because I feel if Johansson had ended it the way I thought she would it would have been a little too predictable. I was also glad that though the end result was surprising, it was still believable. Sometimes I feel like authors go too out of their way to be unpredictable and end up with ridiculous stories that don’t make sense. So props to Johansson for that.

So all in all, even though Insomnia wasn’t quite as good as I’d hoped, I still enjoyed it. It’s also going to be a series, and I will probably end up reading the rest of them.

red3

Leave a Reply

