Boundless: A Review in Memes

I feel like I’m a bit of a reviewing rut, so here’s a review mostly in memes. Not sure where they’re from.

boundless-crop

Title: Boundless
Author: Cynthia Hand
Publisher: Harper Teen
Publication Date: January 22, 2013
Pages: 438
Genre: Paranormal
Source: Library
Rating: 4/5

The past few years have held more surprises than part-angel Clara Gardner could ever have anticipated. Yet from the dizzying highs of first love, to the agonizing low of losing someone close to her, the one thing she can no longer deny is that she was never meant to live a normal life.

Since discovering the special role she plays among the other angel-bloods, Clara has been determined to protect Tucker Avery from the evil that follows her . . . even if it means breaking both their hearts. Leaving town seems like the best option, so she’s headed back to California – and so is Christian Prescott, the irresistible boy from the vision that started her on this journey in the first place.

As Clara makes her way in a world that is frighteningly new, she discovers that the fallen angel who attacked her is watching her every move. And he’s not the only one. . . . With the battle against the Black Wings looming, Clara knows she must finally fulfill her destiny. But it won’t come without sacrifices and betrayal.

boundless_cynthia-hand_book1

*CONTAINS SPOILERS*

How I’ve felt about Christian for the entire series:

memes_nope3_Memebase_106-s500x667-242977-580

I’ll admit I was a little too happy when Christian and Clara’s one date didn’t go well. If she’d ended up with him I might have cried. He’s just so annoying. He’s all pompous and overprotective and just…no.

How I’ve felt about Tucker for the entire series:

fictional-character

And now I really can’t marry him because he and Clara get married! One of the things I really liked about this series finale was that Cynthia Hand fast-forwarded into the future so we got to see Web grown up and who everyone ended up with. Oh, and she made Tucker a prophet, which I felt was kind of cheating in terms of the whole Clara-will-stay-younger-but-Tucker-will-grow-old-faster-so-they-can’t-be-together thing, but I love Tucker so I didn’t care all that much how he and Clara ended up together.

My reaction to the thing that happens with Angela:

gasp+erk

I wish Hand had gone into the pregnancy and Angela’s piece of the story a little more, even though the books are really about Clara. I almost wished the story was told in alternating perspectives, especially since Angela disappears for a while in the book. Also, I’m sure that Phen was mentioned earlier in the series, but I really didn’t remember him, so personally I was a little confused by his presence. I did think it was interesting to include him because of his status as a grey angel.

pink4

Leave a Reply

